Skip to main content

Is Pokemon Go down?

Is Pokemon Go down?
(Image credit: Niantic)

Is Pokemon Go down right now? Unfortunately, if you're reading this between the hours of 11am - 6pm PDT on June 1, the answer is yes.

Niantic has announced that there will be seven hours of scheduled server maintenance for Pokemon Go (opens in new tab) on June 1, so don't worry; they're not having unforeseen issues. The timing of the downtime isn't ideal for players in the US though, as it cuts into most of the day. Here are the scheduled downtimes in most major regions:

West Coast US: 11am - 6pm PDT, June 1
East Coast US: 2pm - 9pm EDT, June 1
UK: 7pm - 2am BST, June 1 - June 2
Central Europe: 8pm - 3am CEST, June 1 - June 2
Eastern Europe: 9pm - 4am EEST, June 1 - June 2
China: 2am - 9am CST, June 2
Japan/South Korea: 3am - 10am, June 2
Australia: 4am - 11am, June 2

See more

During this time, Pokemon Go will be completely unavailable. If there's anything absolutely urgent you need to get done in-game, make sure you do it before the Pokemon Go servers go down, because you won't be able to do it during. As always with these things, there's a chance the downtime may go on for longer than expected, so don't be surprised if you can't boot the game up immediately after the scheduled downtime has ended.

There's no word on what this downtime is actually for. Speculation is that they're simply migrating to different servers, which is unfortunately a boring answer. If you were hoping the downtime is for a huge update like the rollout of Gen 6 Pokemon or a brand new event, that's unlikely since Niantic has never had to bring the servers down in the past in order to make that happen. Nevertheless, all your Pokemon and items will still be there when you return, so just kick back and have a Pokemon Go free day instead.

Pokemon Go tips (opens in new tab) | Pokemon Go Community Day (opens in new tab) | Pokemon Go field research (opens in new tab) | Pokemon Go shiny list (opens in new tab) | Pokemon Go regional Pokemon (opens in new tab) | Pokemon Go Sinnoh Stones (opens in new tab) | Pokemon Go Legendaries (opens in new tab) | Pokemon Go Evolution Items (opens in new tab) | Pokemon Go Pokedex (opens in new tab) | How to catch a Spinda in Pokemon Go (opens in new tab) | How to catch a Ditto in Pokemon Go (opens in new tab) | How to catch Mew and Mewtwo in Pokemon Go (opens in new tab) | How to catch Celebi in Pokemon Go (opens in new tab) | How to get Jirachi in Pokemon Go (opens in new tab) | How to catch Smeargle in Pokemon Go (opens in new tab) | How to catch Meltan in Pokemon Go (opens in new tab) | How to change team in Pokemon Go (opens in new tab) | How to get Leafeon and Glaceon in Pokemon Go (opens in new tab) | Pokemon Go Team Rocket (opens in new tab) | Pokemon Go shadow Pokemon (opens in new tab) | Pokemon Go A Troubling Situation (opens in new tab) | How to purify shadow Pokemon in Pokemon Go (opens in new tab) | Pokemon Go Jump Start research (opens in new tab)

Ford James
Ford James

Give me a game and I will write every "how to" I possibly can or die trying. When I'm not knee-deep in a game to write guides on, you'll find me hurtling round the track in F1, flinging balls on my phone in Pokemon Go, pretending to know what I'm doing in Football Manager, or clicking on heads in Valorant.