Oscars 2018: How, when, and where to watch the 90th Academy Awards

null

It’s that time of year again. The Oscars 2018 is nearly upon us. Get those sweepstakes ready, angry Twitter complaints tucked away in your drafts, and, if you’re on the British side of the pond, several cups of coffee. Here’s everything you need to know about watching the 90th Academy Awards, from what time it’s on, to which network you can catch it on. Oh, and if you're wondering who the Oscar winners will be, we've bolding put our predictions out there!

When and where is the Oscars 2018?

Live from the Dolby Theatre in LA, the Oscars 2018 takes place on Sunday March 4, 2018 at 1am GMT / 8pm EST / 5pm PST, with the main ceremony starting half an hour later.

Judging by previous years, the show will run for roughly three hours. For those of you who want to take in the glitz and the glamour of the red carpet, Oscars: Red Carpet Live will be shown from 11:30pm GMT/6:30pm EST/3:30pm PST. 

For the second year in a row, comedian/chat show host Jimmy Kimmel will be hosting. Fun fact: he’s only the second person to achieve such a feat, after Billy Crystal in 1997 and 1998.

How can I watch the Oscars 2018?

If you’re in America: simple. The awards ceremony will be shown live on the ABC Network. You are also able to stream the show via abc.com and on the ABC app should your market allow it. For those in the UK, you’ll either need to sign up for a Sky Cinema Pass through NOW TV or have access to the Sky Cinema Oscars channel via your subscription package.

Who's nominated for the Oscars 2018?

The Shape of Water leads the way with 13 nominations, but many, many more are snapping at its heels. Some of the big names to be recognised this year include Call Me by Your Name, Darkest Hour, Get Out, and Lady Bird

The Best Picture award sees the top films of the past 12 months duke it out to see who takes home the night’s most prestigious award. The Shape of Water, Call Me by Your Name, Dunkirk, Get Out, Lady Bird, Phantom Thread, The Post, and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri are all in contention.

Star Wars: The Last Jedi is up for Best Original Score, while Blade Runner 2049 gets the nod in Best Sound Editing, Best Sound Mixing, and Best Cinematography. Click here for the full list of Oscar nominations 2018.

For even more about the Academy Awards, here are 8 things you’ve always wanted to ask about the Oscars.