For Honor's closed alpha starts Thursday, sword out the details here

TODO alt text

For Honor's closed alpha will begin on Thursday, and it looks like it won't be one of those teensy tiny pared-down tech tests that barely justify their gigabytes. You'll be able to play as two of the four heroes from each of the three factions, try out three maps, and play three of the five currently planned multiplayer modes (1v1, 2v2, and 4v4). Here's the first of six trailers for all the available hero classes, to get you in the fighting spirit.

The closed alpha will also implement a limited version of the full game's progression system. Players will be able to unlock new abilities, equipment, and cosmetic options as they play. If you haven't already, make sure you register at the game's official website for a chance to get a slot.

And clear out a good chunk of your calendar: For Honor's closed alpha test will begin on September 15 at 6 am PDT / 2 pm BST and end on September 18 at 5 pm PDT / September 19 at 1 am BST. The full game will hit PC, PS4, and Xbox One on February 14.

Seen something newsworthy? Tell us!


One of GR+'s news crew, Connor also writes features from time to time and does a lil' streamin'-streamin' on the side. Chrom is his husband and nothing will ever come between them.
We recommend