Are The Division 2 servers down? All expected patches and maintenance

null

UPDATE March 22: The Division 2 is down again for approximately three hours. The downtime started at 4:30 am EDT / 8:30 am BST / 9:30 am CET, so we're expecting the game to be back online around 11:30 am BST.

UPDATE March 18: The Division 2 is back down as of 2:15 pm PDT / 5:15 pm EDT / 9:15 pm BST for what will hopefully be a brief service outage, as Ubisoft seeks to fix that annoying skill cooldown issue. This downtime is only planned for 15 minutes, but we'll keep you updated in case it drags on.

UPDATE March 16: The latest downtime for The Division 2 is here, and helpfully scheduled for the morning UK time, which means our Editor can't waste time playing instead of doing essential chores. Darn it! It's been confirmed that the The Division 2 servers down time will start on Saturday, March 16 from 10AM GMT / 11AM CET / 6AM EDT / 3AM PDT. This downtime is expected to last for an hour and a half, but the official Division 2 Twitter account will let you know when it's back online. 

The server maintenance is to fix the following bugs, as explained on the Ubisoft forum:

  • Implemented a fix that should reduce occurrences of client crashes when using skills
  • Fixed an issue where players could be stuck in the wrong World Tier if they completed Strongholds without meeting the required Gear Score while in a group
  • Fixed an issue where players wouldn’t be able to talk to agent Kelso at the Castle Settlement
  • Fixed an issue where players could obtain multiple Ivory Keys from the same source
  • Fixed an issue where map progress would not be saved when completing Open World activities and Side missions in another players’ instance.
  • Fixed an exploit that allowed players to loot Supply Drops multiple times
  • Fixed a bug where players could buy blueprints repeatedly at the vendors by logging out and back in
  • Fixed an issue where combining the Dialed in talent with the Emet Mask could lead to greatly increased Accuracy and Stability

How to get Dark Zone keys in The Division 2 | The Division 2 tips | The best Division 2 skills | The best Division 2 perks |  The Division 2 crafting guide | How to level up fast in The Division 2| The Division 2 Dark Zone guide | The Division 2 Hyena Key locations | The Division 2 Masks | The Division 2 crafting guide | How to unlock the Dark Zone in The Division 2

Update March 14: Following the previously scheduled server downtime, it seems like Ubisoft needs to make some more minor tweaks, and a message has appeared warning "All servers closing for maintenance" at 10:30 PM CET / 05:30 PM ET / 08:30 AM ACT / 6:30 AM KST. Fortunately, the servers should only be down for around 20 minutes, to apply a patch with a few quick bugfixes. Here's a screencap we grabbed of the in-game notification, where you can see the message in teeny-tiny text at the bottom left:

Original story:

If you're already playing The Division 2 you probably want to make the most of your early-access time with the game, so make sure you plan some meals or abstract theorycrafting or maybe even sleep for when The Division 2 servers go down on Thursday. Ubisoft said on The Division 2's official forum that it will add "a small patch" to the game during the maintenance period with more detailed update notes to follow.

Ubisoft has moved its planned maintenance up by half an hour, but the expected duration remains the same. Prepare for the servers to go offline starting at 1:00 am PDT / 4:00 am EDT / 8:00 am GMT and come back around 3 hours after that.

You never know if these planned maintenance sessions will turn into unplanned, extended outages. Early access to The Division 2 is one of the benefits of buying certain special editions and it'd be a big bummer for Ubisoft to bite into any more of that time than it's already announced. Let's all think happy thoughts and lend our spirit energy to the Ubisoft developers working late/early so that everything goes smoothly and the servers come back on schedule.

Ubisoft hasn't detailed its plans for regular maintenance work on The Division 2 yet. Its predecessor has semi-weekly downtime that typically lasts anywhere from a half hour to three hours, so I'd expect something similar once The Division 2 gets into its post-release flow. Never fun to be kicked out of a game, but hey, better to bring it down for a little bit of work every now than to ride it until the wheels fall off.

Don't head into post-apocalyptic DC without taking some pointers from our list of The Division 2 tips.

The Division 2 tips | The best Division 2 skills | The best Division 2 perks | How to get Dark Zone keys in The Division 2 | The Division 2 crafting guide | The Division 2 Hyena key locations | How to level up fast in The Division 2| The Division 2 Dark Zone guide