Complete Hogwarts Legacy main quest list to track objectives

Hogwarts Legacy main quest list
(Image credit: Warner Brothers)

A complete Hogwarts Legacy main missions list is going to be useful to get an idea one where you are in the game. Whether that's to power on with the story, or slow down and take in the scenery more. Despite how you can have several missions on the go, the overall plot is fairly linear. This does give you some choice as you proceed but, overall, most witches and wizards will move through roughly the same progression while exploring Hogwarts Legacy

Our quest list has all 43 main missions, including the final House Cup objective which can only be completed when you reach Level 34, post-game - you can go back and complete side-quests after the main mission is done, so don't feel like you have to rush to tick everything off as it comes up. For now, here's all the main missions in Hogwarts Legacy, including the four variations of the 14th mission that assigns you a house-specific quest dependent upon where you have been sorted.

Hogwarts Legacy unicorn

(Image credit: Warner Brothers)

Complete Hogwarts Legacy quest list 

  1. The Path To Hogwarts - you'll start unlocking Hogwarts Legacy Spells from this point on
  2. Welcome To Hogwarts
  3. Defence Against the Dark Arts Class
  4. In The Shadow Of The Undercroft
  5. Charms Class
  6. Weasley After Class
  7. Welcome To Hogsmeade
  8. The Locket's Secret
  9. Secrets Of The Restricted Section
  10. Tomes & Tribulations
  11. Flying Class - this is when you unlock broomsticks in Hogwarts Legacy
  12. Potions Class - includes a side mission to steal the Fwooper feather in Hogwarts Legacy 
  13. The Girl from Uagadou
  14. House-Specific Mission - outlined in our Hogwarts Legacy house differences guide, these missions include Scrope's Last Hope, Ollivander's Heirloom, Prisoner of Love, and Hunt for the Missing Pages
  15. Trials of Merlin - check out our guide to solving Merlin Trials too
  16. Jackdaw's Rest
  17. The Map Chamber
  18. Percival Rackham's Trial
  19. Herbology
  20. The Helm of Urtkot
  21. Beasts Class
  22. Room of Requirement
  23. The Caretaker's Lunar Lament
  24. Lodgok's Loyalty
  25. In The Shadow Of The Estate
  26. Astronomy
  27. It's All Gobbledegook
  28. Back On The Path
  29. Charles Rookwood's Trial
  30. Fire & Vice
  31. The Elf, the Nab-Sack, and The Loom
  32. In the Shadow of the Mountain
  33. The Headmistress Speaks
  34. The Polyjuice Plot
  35. Niamh Fitzgerald's Trial
  36. Wand Mastery
  37. In The Shadow Of The Mine
  38. The High Keep
  39. San Bakar's Trial
  40. The Final Repository
  41. In The Shadow of Revelation
  42. Weasley's Watchful Eye
  43. POST GAME: The House Cup (Lev 34 required)

The release of Hogwarts Legacy has been the subject of criticism and debate due to J.K. Rowling's public stance on gender identity, which continues to challenge the inclusivity at the heart of the Harry Potter community. Here is our explainer on the Hogwarts Legacy controversy. 

Jasmine Gould-Wilson
Staff Writer, GamesRadar+

Jasmine is a staff writer at GamesRadar+. Raised in Hong Kong and having graduated with an English Literature degree from Queen Mary, University of London in 2017, her passion for entertainment writing has taken her from reviewing underground concerts to blogging about the intersection between horror movies and browser games. Having made the career jump from TV broadcast operations to video games journalism during the pandemic, she cut her teeth as a freelance writer with TheGamer, Gamezo, and Tech Radar Gaming before accepting a full-time role here at GamesRadar. Whether Jasmine is researching the latest in gaming litigation for a news piece, writing how-to guides for The Sims 4, or extolling the necessity of a Resident Evil: CODE Veronica remake, you'll probably find her listening to metalcore at the same time.