Skip to main content

Warzone nuke event - everything you need to know

Warzone nuke
(Image credit: Activision)

The Warzone nuke event has been and gone, but what went down? Aside from the obvious, if you missed the nuking of Verdansk last night, we've got the low down on what happened in Call of Duty Warzone. There were zombies, a big explosion, then everyone got evacuated to Rebirth Island... and we're still waiting for part two! This is everything you need to know about the Warzone nuke event.

Check out the GamesRadar Warzone nuke stream highlights to watch the event for yourself.

Warzone Season 3 | Call of Duty Warzone tips | Warzone Error codes | Is Warzone down? | Warzone best guns | Warzone bunkers | Best Cold War guns in Warzone | Warzone Patch notes 

What happened in the Warzone Nuke event?

Call of Duty Warzone zombies gulag

(Image credit: Activision)

Spoiler: a nuke happened. As the zombies started to overwhelm any remaining players in The Destruction of Verdansk Part 1, a cutscene played which showed a nuclear missile being fired from somewhere to the west. So even though the expectation was that the nuke would come from within one of the missile silos on the map, it instead came from elsewhere.

As the title says though, that is only part one. The second part is happening at 12pm PT/3pm ET/8pm BST today, April 22, at which point we'll know what is going down. We know what the actual outcome will be – constant leaks leading up to this event revealed that Verdansk would be transported back to the 1980s – but what will cause that to happen? Some time travel shenanigans, inevitably. Make sure you check out our guide to the new Warzone map for everything you need to know.