When is the next Fortnite live event, Fracture

Fortnite live event Fracture
(Image credit: Epic Games)

The next Fortnite live event is almost upon us, as Epic have officially confirmed that the Fracture event will be going ahead this coming Saturday. This isn't surprising in itself, as we usually have a live event every couple of seasons, but what did catch us off guard is that this is actually the Chapter 3 Finale, because the current chapter is only four seasons in and they usually last much longer. As a result, we'll be starting the brand new Fortnite Chapter 4 within the next week, which is definitely not something we could have predicted happening until recently, so it's likely we'll soon be battling it out on a significantly changed island setting complete with new locations to discover and updated gameplay mechanics to get the hang of.

See more

We don't know specific details yet about how this event is going to affect Fortnite, though we can glean some information from the latest teaser video shown above. This begins by showing the Reality Tree in its original glory, as seen through the orb summoned by Fortnite The Herald in Herald's Sanctum, which then cuts to flying through space followed by armed characters sprinting towards the Reality Tree.

Fortnite live event Fracture

(Image credit: Epic Games)

It finishes up with a number of Fortnite Chrome Vortex whirlwinds and a huge pool of Chrome heading towards a group of characters barricaded into a base in what appears to be the desert biome, and if you look closely you can see The Herald hovering in the middle of the foremost Chrome Vortex. This suggests that The Herald is the catalyst for this cataclysmic final event, harnessing the power of Chrome against the battle royale island and remaining loopers.

Fortnite Live Event Fracture Chrome Rifts

(Image credit: Epic Games)

Players are already noticing what appear to be Chrome Rifts forming in the skies above the island, but these could also be Fractures in the sky itself, so we'll keep an eye on these to see if they spread further. Fracture is coming in early December, so here's everything we know about when the Fortnite live event is happening and how to take part in this one-off experience.

Fortnite live event Fracture

(Image credit: Epic Games)

What time is the Fortnite live event

Now we have official confirmation of the Fortnite live event, we also know what time Fracture is going to start. Everything is due to kick off on Saturday December 3 at 1pm PT / 4pm ET / 9pm GMT, so expect fireworks to start flying once the Chapter 3 finale event begins.

These Fortnite live events are always exceedingly popular, so here are some tips to make sure you don't miss out when the start time arrives. Firstly, check in advance that you have the latest version of Fortnite downloaded and installed. Next, it's advised that you log into the game at least an hour prior to the event start time, in case the servers start to reach capacity, then keep a look out for the event playlist which will go live approximately 30 minutes before the start time so you can jump in and reserve your spot for the event. For the first time, you will also be able to join the Fracture live event in-progress if you miss the start, all the way up until 1:40pm PT / 4:40pm ET / 9:40pm GMT.

Fortnite live event Fracture

(Image credit: Epic Games)

As a toast to the outgoing Chapter 3, all players who log in during the lead up the Fortnite live event will receive the Toasty Roast Emote for free, as pictured above. This will be available from December 2 at 6am PT / 9am ET / 2pm GMT to December 4 at 11:45pm PT (December 3) / 2:45am ET / 7:45am GMT.

For the Fracture event itself, you'll be able to queue in parties of up to four players so you can experience it together. If you're not in a squad to begin with, there will also be special emotes added for the event which you can use to form one with others. If you can't get to your usual gaming console while the Fortnite live event is happening, it's also possible to take part using Xbox Cloud Gaming (opens in new tab) or NVIDIA GeForce NOW (opens in new tab) through a PC web browser or your mobile device.

How to watch the Fortnite live event

Fortnite Live Event

(Image credit: Epic Games)

While some previous Fortnite live events have premiered on YouTube, the more recent events such as The End and Collision have been fully interactive experiences that you can only take part in through the game, and Fracture is following this route. This will be another one shot in-game Fortnite live event and Epic have warned that replay mode will not be available for these proceedings, so streamers and players alike should take steps to record their gameplay if they want to share it later. If you're looking for any video content then keep an eye on the Fortnite YouTube channel (opens in new tab), as anything official will appear there.

Iain Wilson
Guides Editor

Iain originally joined Future in 2012 to write guides for CVG, PSM3, and Xbox World, before moving on to join GamesRadar in 2013 as Guides Editor. His words have also appeared in OPM, OXM, PC Gamer, GamesMaster, and SFX. He is better known to many as ‘Mr Trophy’, due to his slightly unhealthy obsession with amassing intangible PlayStation silverware, and he now has almost 500 Platinum pots weighing down the shelves of his virtual award cabinet. He does not care for Xbox Achievements.