Skip to main content

Fortnite patch notes v18.30 adds another war effort vote, Cube Queen outfit, and Mountain Base

Fortnite patch notes v18.30
(Image credit: Epic Games)

Fortnite patch notes are here again, to welcome in the latest changes made for v18.30 as we continue to battle our way through Fortnite Season 8. The war effort vote has two new candidates, so we could be seeing spontaneous dancing breaking out around the island if the Boogie Bomb is recalled from the vault, while the Cube Queen is officially joining the fight with some fresh assignments to unlock her outfit and matching accessories. After a full two years of Fortnite mystery the Mountain Base near Catty Corner has finally opened up, plus there's a bonus chunk of XP to be had during the upcoming Power Leveling Weekend, so catch up on everything you need to know with our round up of the biggest changes in the Fortnite patch notes.

Fortnite patch notes for Season 8 update v18.30

Fortnite patch notes v18.30

(Image credit: Epic Games)

We begin our look at the Fortnite patch notes v18.30 with a fresh war effort vote, which this time is deciding whether the Boogie Bomb or the Combat Shotgun returns from the vault. If you've not experienced them before, the Boogie Bomb causes any players near its explosions to dance uncontrollably for a few seconds during which they can't use weapons or items, while the Combat Shotgun has a tighter firing spread to deal damage at distances further than standard shotguns. To help your chosen weapon reach 100% funding you need to start depositing bars at the Fortnite Item Donation Boards around the island as soon as possible, as there can only be one winner.

Fortnite patch notes v18.30

(Image credit: Epic Games)

The Cube Queen section of the battle pass is unlocking today, providing some fresh Fortnite quests to unlock her outfit along with matching back bling, harvesting tool, and impressive Queen's Procession glider that depicts her walking down an ethereal staircase. Unsurprisingly, most of these challenges involve items and weapons from the Fortnite Sideways, so be ready to make several visits through those portals to the monster realm.

Fortnite patch notes v18.30

(Image credit: Epic Games)

Incredibly, the Mountain Base to the east of Catty Corner, which has been steadfastly locked shut and marked as **REDACTED** since it first appeared right back at that start of Chapter 2, has finally opened its blast door to reveal an Imagined Order base within! Once you get in there you'll need to deal with Fortnite IO Guards along with Doctor Slone herself, so make sure you arm yourself well before you try to venture inside.

Fortnite patch notes v18.30

(Image credit: Epic Games)

Finally, to coincide with the Fortnitemares event there's a Power Leveling Weekend running from October 29 at 4pm PT / 7pm ET / Midnight BST until November 1 at 4am PT / 7am ET / 11am GMT. During this time a bonus pool of Supercharged XP will be available, so if you're wondering how to level up fast in Fortnite then playing this weekend will definitely help!

Fortnite tips | Fortnite Creative codes | Fortnite 2FA | How to enable cross platform Fortnite matches | How to get free Fortnite V-Bucks | Fortnite Starter Pack | Fortnite map | Fortnite new weapons | Fortnite characters | Fortnite Color Bottles | Fortnite vending machines | Fortnite weapon upgrade benches | Fortnite crafting

Iain Wilson

Iain originally joined Future in 2012 to write guides for CVG, PSM3, and Xbox World, before moving on to join GamesRadar in 2013 as Guides Editor. His words have also appeared in OPM, OXM, PC Gamer, GamesMaster, and SFX. He is better known to many as ‘Mr Trophy’, due to his slightly unhealthy obsession with amassing intangible PlayStation silverware, and he now has over 300 Platinum pots weighing down the shelves of his virtual award cabinet. He does not care for Xbox Achievements.