Star Wars: Episode VII cast announced

The cast for Star Wars: Episode VII has finally been announced.

Not only that, but we have our first picture of the cast together!

The press release, published on reads:

"Actors John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, and Max von Sydow will join the original stars of the saga, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Kenny Baker in the new film.

Director J.J. Abrams says, "We are so excited to finally share the cast of Star Wars: Episode VII. It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again. We start shooting in a couple of weeks, and everyone is doing their best to make the fans proud."

That is one amazing cast right there - consider us right on board.

Star Wars: Episode VII opens worldwide on 18 December 2015.