Luke Cage season 1 titles revealed, tells us a smidge about the plot

The wait is nearly over for fans of Marvel's Netflix universe, with Luke Cage set to drop all 13 episodes of season 1 in less than a month. Today brings us another tiny step closer to his first batch of adventures, courtesy of the series showrunner. While there's no new footage, we have something just as intriguing to scrutinise: episode titles.  

Cheo Hodari Coker has been releasing the titles of each hour-long episode over the last several weeks, finally hitting 13 a couple of days ago. There's a reason the whole thing reads like a playlist; each episode is named after a song by Gang Starr. But what might this tell us about the show? They all seem to hint at Cage's time on the streets of Harlem, which we know will include some awesome fight sequences. Could be that's why suckas need bodyguards. Check out the full list below: 

1. "Moment of Truth"

2. "Code of the Streets" 

3.  "Who's Gonna Take the Weight?"  

4. "Step in the Arena"  

5. "Just to Get a Rep"  

6. "Suckas Need Bodyguards"  

7. "Manifest"  

8. "Blowin' Up the Spot"  

9. "DWYCK"  

10. "Take it Personal" 

11. "Now You're Mine"  

12. "Soliloquy of Chaos"  

13. "You Know My Steez"

Starring Mike Colter, Mahershala Ali, Alfre Woodard, Simone Missick, Theo Rossi, Rosario Dawson, Frank Whaley, and Sônia Braga, season 1 of Marvel's Luke Cage makes its Netflix debut on September 30, 2016. 

Images: Marvel/Netflix 

Gem Seddon

Gem Seddon is GamesRadar+'s west coast Entertainment News Reporter, working to keep all of you updated on all of the latest and greatest movies and shows on streaming platforms like Netflix and Amazon Prime. Outside of entertainment journalism, Gem can frequently be found writing about the alternative health and wellness industry, and obsessing over all things Aliens and Terminator on Twitter.