Skip to main content

Fortnite Travis Scott event sees 12.3 million players in first show

(Image credit: Epic)

The Fortnite (opens in new tab) Travis Scott event, dubbed Astronomical, saw 12.3 million concurrent players take part, Epic has announced. 

Taking to Twitter, the Fortnite developer also revealed that this is an "all-time record" for the battle royale shooter. If you've been asking yourself how many people play Fortnite (opens in new tab), this event proves the answer is: a hefty amount. 

See more

There's good news if you missed the event the first time around. There'll be repeat showings across the weekend, and we've popped the times and dates for them below.  

  • Friday April 24 at 8am PST / 11am EST / 4pm BST 
  • Saturday April 25 at 9pm PST / 12am EST / 5am BST
  • Saturday April 25 at 9am PST / 12pm EST / 5pm BST
  • Saturday April 25 at  4pm PST / 7pm EST / Sunday April 26 at 12am BST

If you can't make those (and without wanting to be rude, but you should be able to make at least one of them), then don't worry. We were there for the first performance and captured it all below for you in it's trippy glory. Be warned, things get weird. 

In the lead up to the event going live last night, Epic teased the "one of a kind musical journey" for quite some time, that debuted a new track. Scott isn't the first artist to make an appearance in Fortnite. Back in February 2019, DJ Marshmello put on a live concert performing a special Fortnite extended set. 

Alongside witnessing the event, you can also take part in some Fortnite Astronomical challenges to unlock free gear. Scott's outfits and emotes are now available in-game, and attending any of the events running will bag you an Astroworld Cyclone Glider and two free loading screens. 

Looking to try out some custom maps? Here's a pick of the best Fortnite Creative Codes.

Heather Wald
Heather Wald

I started out writing for the games section of a student-run website as an undergrad, and continued to write about games in my free time during retail and temp jobs for a number of years. Eventually, I earned an MA in magazine journalism at Cardiff University, and soon after got my first official role in the industry as a content editor for Stuff magazine. After writing about all things tech and games-related, I then did a brief stint as a freelancer before I landed my role as a staff writer here at GamesRadar+. Now I get to write features, previews, and reviews, and when I'm not doing that, you can usually find me lost in any one of the Dragon Age or Mass Effect games, tucking into another delightful indie, or drinking far too much tea for my own good.