Skip to main content

Elden Ring network test times and how to play the Elden Ring beta

Elden Ring
(Image credit: Bandai Namco)

The Elden Ring network test is happening, and if you're wondering how to play this first Elden Ring beta then here's what you need to know. Firstly, the bad news: if you haven't signed up yet, you won't be able to play Elden Ring during this first round of dates, as applications officially closed on November 1. However, if you are signed up, we've got the times and dates you can play.  

In the run up to the first Elden Ring network test, FromSoftware opened up a sign up page allowing folks to register for PS4, PS5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X/S access. It's a big chunk of playable game, which you can read about in our in-depth Elden Ring gameplay preview. Although, as FromSoftware has stated  this is a test "to verify various technologies of the online system" not a demo for fun. 

While everyone's currently locked in for this network test, there's still a chance there might be more beta access later. It's FromSoftware tradition at this point to hold several network tests in the lead-up to launch date, so there's decent odds this won't be your last and only chance to jump in early. If you were lucky enough to get in, here's when the Elden Ring network test kicks off and how long it runs.

Elden Ring

(Image credit: Bandai Namco)

When are Elden Ring Network Test dates and times?

The Elden Ring beta will only be available at very specific times this weekend and you'll only be able to play when the servers are active. There are five slots over the Friday to Sunday period, across a range of time zones so hopefully there should be a slot that works for you, wherever you are. 

Here are the Elden Ring Network Test dates and times: 

  • Friday, November 12: 3am - 6am PT / 6am - 9am ET / 11am - 2pm GMT
  • Friday, November 12: 7pm - 10pm PT / 10pm - 1am ET (Nov 13) / 3am - 6am (Nov 13) GMT
  • Saturday, November 13: 11am - 2pm PT / 2pm - 5pm ET / 7pm - 10pm GMT
  • Sunday, November 14: 3pm - 6pm PT / 6pm - 9pm ET / 11pm - 2am (Nov 15) GMT
  • Sunday, November 14: 7pm - 10pm PT / 10pm - 1am (Nov 15) ET / 3am - 6am (Nov 15) GMT

As we mentioned, From usually do a few of these tests so if you've missed it this weekend there's always a chance there will be another test between now and the game's slightly delayed February launch. And if you want to know more about the game then we've talked about how Elden Ring is the most approachable game FromSoftware has made and how Elden Ring is different from Dark Souls, despite looking very similar (hello identical UI). 

Bandai Namco and FromSoftware hope to see Elden Ring "broaden the fanbase" built by Dark Souls, and we're not just talking about going beyond the 'git gud' crowd.

Austin Wood

Austin freelanced for the likes of PC Gamer, Eurogamer, IGN, Sports Illustrated, and more while finishing his journalism degree, and he's been with GamesRadar+ since 2019. They've yet to realize that his position as a staff writer is just a cover up for his career-spanning Destiny column, and he's kept the ruse going with a focus on news and the occasional feature.