The Hive wins 2013 Terry Pratchett prize

The Anywhere But Here, Anywhen But Now First Novel Prize goes to young politics student

The prize was launched by Sir Terry in 2011 and found not one, but two winners that year ( Apocalypse Cow by Michael Logan and Half Sick Of Shadows by David Logan).This second event opened for submissions from aspiring debut novelists with over 500 entries. This year's shortlist, who were all present on Thursday to discover the winner, was:

The Unspoken Death of the Amazing Flying Boy by Jean Burdett
Bloodline by Sophie Constable
The Hive by Alexander Maskill
The Way Through the Woods by Robin Pearson
A Kill in the Morning by Graeme Shimmin
The Shadows of Annwn by Catherine Whittle

The Terry Pratchett Prize Reception 2013

The shortlist entries were from all over the world, with two entrants flying in from Australia to attend the announcement. Sir Terry Pratchett was joined by a team of judges including Rob Wilkins, Alex Veasey from Forbidden Planet and an editor and publicist from Transworld. Alexander Maskill's book takes us to New Cairo, a city built on technology, as it deals with a computer virus spreading through the poorest districts shutting down the life-giving implants.

Congratulations Alexander! Find out more about Sir Terry Pratchett , the Anywhere But Here, Anywhen But Now award and Transworld Publishers at the official websites.

UPDATE: Click here to read an interview with Alex now!