A new Call of Duty: Vanguard free weekend kicks off tomorrow with max XP bonuses

Call of Duty Vanguard multiplayer
(Image credit: Activision)

A new Call of Duty: Vanguard free weekend kicks off tomorrow with three playlists as well as max XP bonuses. There are also tier skips, an XP boost, and Warzone-ready weapons available if you decide to upgrade to the full game.

Activision shared a new blog post (opens in new tab) going over the details of the latest 'Free Access' to Vanguard's multiplayer, which runs from 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm GMT on Thursday, December 16 until the same time on Tuesday, December 21. So, really, more of a four-day free weekend, which is hard to complain about.

The free trial includes three playlists, two of which are themed around the holidays for Call of Duty: Vanguard's Festive Fervor event. The Free Kills playlist is a mix of Team Deathmatch, Domination, and Hardpoint on the new map Radar as well as Das Haus, Hotel Royal, Eagle's Nest, Numa Numa, and Shipment. After the Festive Fervor update goes live at 9pm PT / 12am ET on December 16, Free Kills will also include Armageddon and Shipmas maps. Free Kills is available with all combat pacing options.

Shipmas 24/7 will also go live with Festive Fervor, featuring the same modes as Free Kills, but with the holiday-themed Shipment map all the time. Finally, the free Vanguard weekend features Champion Hill, the new Trios survival tournament mode "where building an effective loadout is just as important as having fast reflexes and quick thinking in tense small-team battles."

Whatever progress you do make in the free trial - and that includes double weapons XP, operator XP, clan XP, and battle pass XP - will carry over to the full game if you decide to upgrade. If you get the game before December 31, you'll also get 10 battle pass tier skips for season one, a 10% XP boost for season one, and the 24 Vanguard tiers from the season six battle pass. 

Call of Duty Vanguard best weapons | Warzone Pacific map | Call of Duty | Call of Duty Vanguard Assassin Proficiency glitch | Call of Duty Vanguard error codes | Call of Duty Vanguard Prestige explained | Call of Duty Vanguard camo challenges | Call of Duty Vanguard Bloom | Call of Duty Vanguard MP40 best loadout | Call of Duty Vanguard STG44 best loadout | Call of Duty Vanguard campaign length

After scoring a degree in English from ASU, I worked as a copy editor while freelancing for places like SFX Magazine, Screen Rant, Game Revolution, and MMORPG on the side. Now, as GamesRadar's west coast Staff Writer, I'm responsible for managing the site's western regional executive branch, AKA my apartment, and writing about whatever horror game I'm too afraid to finish.