Google+

Watchmen The End is Nigh: Part 2 review

Disappointing
AT A GLANCE
  • Lots of action
  • Lots of blood
  • RAGE!
  • No depth or substance
  • Mindless button-mashing
  • Gets the point of Watchmen all wrong

We hated every moment of this second combat-orientated Watchmen game. Bad guys get hit. Lots of bad guys. And then blood flies everywhere, and Rorschach punches people in the groin and, like, Nite Owl breaks arms in half or something. A "Rage" meter keeps track of their anger and makes them go crazy when it’s full.

There’s no depth or substance, just acres of mindless combat punctuated with the odd lockpick minigame. Fans of the film will despise this.

Aug 20, 2009

More Info

Release date: Jul 30 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Jul 30 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: WB Interactive
Developed by: Deadline Games
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Violence
PEGI Rating:
18+

13 comments

  • kor2disturbed - November 29, 2009 7:42 a.m.

    hmm I loved this game and part 1 I am a fan of the movie but I loved this game I also loved batman begins the video game
  • Oleggg - August 25, 2009 11:15 a.m.

    best review ever^^
  • drprofessor - August 23, 2009 12:53 a.m.

    Why in the love of Zardoz do these games keep coming out and why are they $20? Shadow Complex? 15!! and I would have paid $30 for that. These shitty beat em' ups arent worth $5. I'm glad this review was short. Good on ya. Oh and yes you should have mentioned the comic fans. You know the internet is anal retentive.
  • TrigunGunner - August 22, 2009 4:32 p.m.

    if GR made this review, then this game would have been verbally torn apart in every way imaginable. but they didn't, Tom Sykes did, whoever that is.
  • Mittenz - August 21, 2009 5:56 p.m.

    Hey guys, gamesradar didnt make the review. Words: Tom Sykes, PSM3 UK reCAPTCHA:homeless 610,307
  • infected123 - August 21, 2009 8:13 a.m.

    y are all the bad games getting short reviews lately because i like reading mean reviews cos they are funny. although if it is that bad the reviewer may have been too depressed to continue. may.be.vital it probably was a financial success since a lot of people would buy it on the name alone and it hardly sounds like it had a large budget.
  • may.be.vital - August 21, 2009 12:38 a.m.

    After the epic fail that was Watchmen: The End is Nigh, why did they bother releasing a second one?
  • GoldenMe - August 20, 2009 11:52 p.m.

    l o l Shortest review ever.
  • Kratos13 - August 24, 2009 1:58 a.m.

    I use to like watchmen until i watched that ball busting movie and played that god awful piece of crap they call a game
  • Wubbles - August 23, 2009 6:45 p.m.

    The length of the review might not be appropriate for a website, but judging by PSM3 UK next to his name, the review is likely ported from a magazine, and is proper length for a little side-column thing. The game is rather insignificant.
  • TheHumbleSlave - August 22, 2009 6:14 p.m.

    "Fans of the film will despise this" That actually annoyed me a bit. What about fans of the comics/graphic novel? You know, the original followers. Tom Sykes needs to not only write a more detailed review, but at least credit the fans of the franchise or mention them without leaving some out. I would not follow a review if it just says that it is mindless or unoriginal.
  • LokiRising - August 21, 2009 4:48 p.m.

    I love me some Gamesradar, but because they hate on old-school beat 'em ups, they miss on the nostalgia factor. But I agree, Watchmen was the wrong franchise for this game. Try....xXx? Beat 'em ups don't really make a lot of sense these days, what with the creation of guns.
  • sixboxes - August 21, 2009 12:27 a.m.

    When I saw how low the score was, I was looking forward to a quality tongue-lashing (key-lashing?) at the hands of GR. This was a bit of a letdown. Then again, if it's as bad as you say it is, then nobody should derive any kind of amusement from this game in any form.

Showing 1-13 of 13 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.