Google+

Opinion: Why Gran Turismo 5 has to be the best racing game ever

November 2nd 2010. This is the launch date for Gran Turismo 5, one of the most anticipated racing games of all time. Well, in North America at least - rest of the world TBA, at time of writing). To me this still seems like a fallacy – like those cult leaders that predict the end of the world and then make up some wild excuse before shifting it to a later date. Either way, The Real Driving SimulatorTM simply has to deliver.


Above: The attention to detail is awe-inspiring, but will it be amazing?

Since GT4 in 2005 we’ve been teased with a full-blown sequel but had to make do with makeweights such as GT HD (2006), GT5: Prologue (2007) and PSP title GT Portable. Seemingly, the reason for the five year hiatus is because developer, Polyphonic Digital, are striving for perfection. So with the team so committed to achieving faultlessness does this mean anything less will be a failure? To me, sort of.

OK, so nothing is perfect, per se, but already my expectations for GT5 are through the effin’ roof. I want every car to purr like their real-life counterpart. I expect every course to be identically represented right down to the smallest piece of torn tarmac at the Nurburgring. In short, I want my every whim catered for and if it’s not I’ll be sad. The devs have made a rod for their own backs with the delays in the pursuit of perfection and cramming as much in as possible, so why shouldn't I expect anything but the best racing game ever?


Above: NASCAR is in this year, umm, yay?

On the other hand, the huge gap between sequels has allowed for a garage load of features to be squeezed into GT5. Dynamic day/night cycles - which will be perfect for something like the 24 hour Le Mans race, 3D tech, over 950 cars including karts, Top Gear's test track and the hotly rumoured track editor. These are all things that would need as much time as possible to deliver perfectly, but for my money the hype around this sequel, which Sony have done little to play down, means that it absolutely has to be immaculate.

But what do you think? Will Sony's racer be the best thing on four-wheels? Would you have rather they sent it out earlier but then added new features via free DLC? Or do you think it's still going to be behind the likes of Forza 3 and Race Driver: GRID? Let us know in the comments below.

Topics

Sony

We Recommend By ZergNet

21 comments

  • RareHero - July 16, 2010 6:23 a.m.

    @yonderthegreat And name one game that has ever had all of that. It doesn't exist. Can people stop setting such ridiculous expectations for GT5. It doesn't need to be anything. No game, I don't care how long it has been in development, will ever live up to the hype of internet. There is no reason GT5 should either. It will be amazing; don't get me wrong - but isn't it a bit unfair to preload it with "best ever."
  • Cogglesz - June 25, 2010 7:01 a.m.

    i purchased my PS3 for this game, then the release date got held back once again ! i've had the PS3 for about one and a half years, i seen amazon uk says November 2nd so hopefully i'll be playing the same day as you guys :) Can't Wait for it, along with New Vegas :D
  • Turboash - June 23, 2010 6:56 p.m.

    As a HUGE fan of the series, I am hoping to god that it is as good as it is 'supposed' to be. Unfortunately, I think the expectations are too high for this to be possible. Still a must buy though.
  • philipshaw - June 22, 2010 12:07 p.m.

    This game will be amazing, I don't get why people like Forza games. They are a poor mans GT imo
  • GamesRadar_NathanIrvine - June 22, 2010 8:13 a.m.

    @crumbdunky Wait, wait, wait. While you've got a point about judging the game upon release and not in the interim, this whole piece is about my personal opinion as a gamer. It's not necessarily what the other folk think on GR, so there's no need for a journalist hat here. I've no doubt that the end product will be wonderful but with every new feature they tease us with my excitement levels and expectations climb higher and higher. Again, this is my personal opinion but one that I thought I'd share to see how other Gran Turismo fans feel about it. Apologies for any confusion caused. Nate x
  • RamenDragon - June 21, 2010 9:22 p.m.

    It's really a shame when a racing game gets hyped like this, because no matter what, it's still just a racing game. I want to play it, and it will probably be good, but no matter how high some people's expectations will be, it's still just a game about cars driving in circles.
  • crumbdunky - June 21, 2010 8:55 p.m.

    FFS , GR, you are supposed to be memebers of the press here. Why on Eaarth does it matter how long a game has taken to make? Just judge it on it's own merits when it releases. the way it performs compared to other racers AS A GAME is what matters and not how long you've waited. for a start PD have had, let alone when you consider how many of their higher ups actually have things going on IN the actual motoring world, a lot more going on than the likes of Codies or T10, haven't they? they've also produced Prologue,HD and GTPSP in this time-it's not like it's just one game, is it? So, if you end up not liking the end result, fair enough, but to blame it on the dev cycle(like a spoilt gamer might) is NOT befitting a journalist who SHOULD know better. I don't recall many Alan Wake reviews hammering Remedy for the shoddy treatment of the PC gamers they tagged along for FIVE years for absolutely nothing? didn't see them docking points even though practically every lauded announcement feature was cut along the way. So, why is it that PD and GT5 seem to be under way more pressure? I couldn't care less about ANY new racer myself unless they introduce proper dynamic weather as without it Forza's tyre selection and most games options are fluff at best and empty selling points at worst.
  • michaelmcc827 - June 21, 2010 7:52 p.m.

    Gran Turismo enthusiasts claim it's all about the driving, but honestly, it looks like it's all about the graphics. The physics engine is by no means realistic when compared to Forza 3, which has impeccable physics. No customization also sucks, as they're leaving out a key car fanbase.
  • CH3BURASHKA - June 21, 2010 4:59 p.m.

    It's too late for Polyphony Digital to woo me. Duke Nukem Forever had the same problem: 3D Realms wanted to make it "perfect", and ended up dead face down in the mud. GT5 is at least coming out, but I would have been much happier with two 'good' installments rather than one 'perfect' one. Then again, I'm not a hard-core simulator type of guy. My idea of a perfect racing game is Split/Second, where crazy shit happens as opposed to mind-numbing realism.
  • Joshin69 - June 21, 2010 4:54 p.m.

    It will be huge and most people will be happy with it. Im still wondering about bikes. Hope they are in there though doubt they are. TT was a great game, very under rated.
  • n00b - June 21, 2010 3:53 p.m.

    this is like what happened to me and twilight princess when they announces it with that amazing trailer i was stunned. i cried tears of joy that day. then it got delayed and delayed and delayed. by the time it was coming out on the wii (the sole reason i got a wii) my expectations were really high. like i wanted it to be like oblivion or something. thought it was going to be revolutionary and what not. then when i got it it was... good. a good game but i think i ruined the experience for my self by setting my expectations too high.
  • Cyberninja - June 21, 2010 3:23 p.m.

    it will get moved again most likey because they found a glitch or something. the reason i am really skeptical is their is no japnese relase date and they get almost every game before us. i really hope this game really does come out before DNF.
  • CrazedPenguin - June 21, 2010 3:19 p.m.

    Yay for WRC! :D On topic, there's no way it can't deliver. Simply by its feature-set alone, even if the mechanics haven't changed from GT5 Prologue, it will be more than worth the $60 (convert according to region)it will cost. The only deal-breaker for me is if you can't customize the HUD like you couldn't in GT5 Prologue. I hate all the crap they clutter your view with, it's just distracting. Plus, what's the point of cockpit view if the speedometer etc are displayed twice?
  • GameManiac - June 21, 2010 3:18 p.m.

    I personally don't care if I have to wait another five years to get this game. I want to get this game, but I'll need a PS3 first.
  • Wolverine08 - June 21, 2010 3:12 p.m.

    GT4 was and in my opinion still is the best racer made, just inches in front of GRID, so GT5 must be better, and theoretically the best by a century. FORZA does nothing for me, it's waaay too unrealistic. I won a race with a Fiat 500 (awesome car) against some sports cars once, a bit wierd? But the main thing is if they can nail the opponent AI like the AI in GRID. I don't want the opponents sticking to the same line and place, I want tussles and battles for 3rd, 2nd and 1st. Oh, and will it have splitscreen?
  • vinicusg.t.guedes - June 21, 2010 2:36 p.m.

    The off road trailer in GT website was enough to make DIRT2 look last-gen. The head lights and tail lights realistically illuminating all the dirt was more eye candy than any damage model and shady interiors will ever do. That's just my opinion, of course, and by the way, I'm no DIRT2 hater, I love it and play a lot of it. I just don't get the point of "ZOMG DAMGE MODELZ NAO!!1" when a half competent player should finish 90% of the races without touching the guardrail or other cars at all.
  • D0CCON - June 21, 2010 2:34 p.m.

    Whenever the game gets delayed, I always feel that Polyphony Digital isn't making the game better. I always think they're do it so the stitching on the passenger side seat matches with its real-life counterpart better. Hopefully they made the career mode more appealing (read: copy the majority of Forza 3) and online will work better than Prologue, but I'm still seeing warning signs. After so long, only 200 of the 1000 cars behave realistically to outside forces (damage), at least in a visual sense. Not to mention only a few NASCAR cars are available (at least they have Jimmie Johnson) and there won't be a fully 42 car race available.
  • TURbo - June 21, 2010 2:11 p.m.

    Gran Turismo 5 will do the best in the European market. Gran Turismo has been diminishing returns since 3.
  • Fiirestorm21 - June 21, 2010 2:03 p.m.

    Obviously it's going to have to be at least as good as other realistic racing games out there if not noticeably better, that goes without saying. But I don't think it needs to be flawless to justify the wait. Anyone who's been that closely watching and anticipating this game for all five years needs to get a life.
  • yonderTheGreat - June 21, 2010 1:59 p.m.

    GT5, in order to live up to the expectations of anyone excluding apologists, MUST incorporate all the features introduce by other games during its absence. Crashes must be better than Forza (not gonna happen), tracks must be dynamic like DiRT (not gonna happen, and I know there's a differenece between off-road and otherwise), and it'll need online TV so you can watch the best racers race and DL their ghosts to improve your game (no idea if that is implemented, but it needs to be). In short... no, it won't live up to what it needs to be.

Showing 1-20 of 21 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.