FIFA 23 Icons list has no room for FIFA 23 Maradona

(Image credit: EA)

The FIFA 23 Icons list contains a couple of shocks. The first is a positive, with the addition of Xabi Alonso, Gerd Muller, and Jairzinho taking the FIFA 23 legend list to exactly 100. But there's a drawback: no more FIFA 23 Maradona. The Argentine god was removed from the roster ahead of release, along with a few others favourites, such as Pep Guardiola. Below we profile the three newcomers, before taking you through the complete FIFA 23 Icons list.

What’s the story with FIFA 23 Maradona?

FIFA 18 World Cup

(Image credit: EA)

Good question – let’s tackle it before we get onto the new faces. Put simply, there is no such thing as FIFA 23 Maradona. The Argentine legend has been removed from the game for legal reasons. 

“Due to a third party legal dispute, we must suspend Diego Maradona from appearing in FIFA Ultimate Team Packs, future FUT content and the Soccer Aid World XI,” an EA Sports statement said.

“As such, Diego Maradona Icon Items will no longer be made available in Packs, SBCs and FUT Draft.”

He’s not the only legend gone, either. In total eight Icons from FIFA 22 have been cut, mostly without explanation. Here’s the full list of FIFA 23 removed Icons:

  • Ryan Giggs
  • Pep Guardiola
  • Deco
  • Diego Maradona
  • Hidetoshi Nakata
  • Jay-Jay Okocha
  • Marc Overmars
  • Filippo Inzaghi

How about the FIFA 23 Okocha and Nakata mystery?

FIFA 23 Heroes

(Image credit: EA)

While Nigerian wizard Jay-Jay Okocha and Japanese favourite Hidetoshi Nakata are off the FIFA 23 Icons list, they are at least still in the game. That pair have been downgraded to FIFA 23 Heroes. As you’ll see from that guide, there are two versions of each available: a Marvel-style Super Heroes card as well as their base version. Truthfully neither of these players were much use in their Icons days, so it’s a sensible move on EA’s part to see whether they catch on as Heroes instead. 

FIFA 23 New Icon Profile: Xabi Alonso 


(Image credit: EA)

Last seen with a spectacular 94-rated End Of An Era card in FIFA 17, the Spanish favourite has been much-missed during the PS5 and Xbox Series X era. His return in Icon form is therefore a massive deal, particularly with fellow countryman Joan Capdevila getting a Heroes card. 

We’re now just two players short of being able to recreate Spain’s 2010 World Cup winning XI in FUT. David Villa and Andres Iniesta are the only ones missing – but sadly, these days the latter is an ambassador for rival game eFootball.  

FIFA 23 New Icon Profile: Gerd Muller


(Image credit: EA)

Think Robert Lewandowski was a Bundesliga baller? Incredibly, Muiller’s record is even better. The Bayern legend smashed 365 goals in 427 German top-flight matches, and remains the league’s record goalscorer despite Lewa’s recent exploits.

Muller also scored more goals at international level than he made appearances: 68 in 62. His Bundesliga days brought four league titles, and he also won the European Championship in 1970 and World Cup in 1974, as West Germany’s key frontman.

FIFA 23 New Icon Profile: Jairzinho


(Image credit: EA)

Speedy, powerful and outrageously skilful, Jairzinho actually finished one spot ahead of Zinedine Zidane in World Soccer magazine’s list of the 20th Century’s greatest players. He scored 33 goals in 83 appearances on the wing for Brazil, and was a World Cup winner in 1970 alongside fellow FIFA 23 Icons Carlos Alberto and Pele. 

Jairzinho's club career is fascinating. He played for nine teams in all, clocking up 13 years with Botafogo before taking his fast feet to Marseille, Kaizer Chiefs, and Cruziero. 

The full FIFA 23 Icons card list

100 past greats make the complete FIFA 23 Icons cards list. Sorted by nation, this is the index of every legend in Ultimate Team.

  • Hernan Crespo (Argentina)
  • Juan Roman Riquelme (Argentina)
  • Juan Sebastian Veron (Argentina)
  • Javier Zanetti (Argentina)
  • Carlos Alberto (Brazil)
  • Cafu (Brazil)
  • Roberto Carlos (Brazil)
  • Garrincha (Brazil)
  • Jairzinho (Brazil)
  • Kaka (Brazil)
  • Pele (Brazil)
  • Rivaldo (Brazil)
  • Ronaldinho (Brazil)
  • Ronaldo (Brazil)
  • Socrates (Brazil)
  • Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria)
  • Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)
  • Davor Suker (Croatia)
  • Petr Cech (Czech Republic)
  • Pavel Nedved (Czech Republic)
  • Michael Laudrup (Denmark)
  • Peter Schmeichel (Denmark)
  • John Barnes (England)
  • David Beckham (England)
  • Sol Campbell (England)
  • Ashley Cole (England)
  • Rio Ferdinand (England)
  • Steven Gerrard (England)
  • Frank Lampard (England)
  • Gary Lineker (England)
  • Bobby Moore (England)
  • Michael Owen (England)
  • Wayne Rooney (England)
  • Paul Scholes (England)
  • Alan Shearer (England)
  • Ian Wright (England)
  • Jari Litmanen (Finland)
  • Lauren Blanc (France)
  • Eric Cantona (France)
  • Marcel Desailly (France)
  • Thierry Henry (France)
  • Claude Makelele (France)
  • Emmanuel Petit (France)
  • Robert Pires (France)
  • David Trezeguet (France)
  • Patrick Vieira (France)
  • Zinedine Zidane (France)
  • Michael Ballack (Germany)
  • Miroslav Klose (Germany)
  • Phillip Lahm (Germany)
  • Lothar Matthaus (Germany)
  • Gerd Muller (Germany)
  • Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany)
  • Michael Essien (Ghana)
  • Ferenc Puskas (Hungary)
  • Roy Keane (Ireland)
  • Roberto Baggio (Italy)
  • Franco Baresi (Italy)
  • Fabio Cannavaro (Italy)
  • Alessandro Del Piero (Italy)
  • Gennaro Gattuso (Italy)
  • Paolo Maldini (Italy)
  • Alessandro Nesta (Italy)
  • Andrea Pirlo (Italy)
  • Christian Vieri (Italy)
  • Gianluca Zambrotta (Italy)
  • Gianfranco Zola (Italy)
  • Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)
  • Luis Hernandez (Mexico)
  • Hugo Sanchez (Mexico)
  • Dennis Bergkamp (Netherlands)
  • Johan Cruyff (Netherlands)
  • Ruud Gullit (Netherlands)
  • Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands)
  • Ronald Koeman (Netherlands)
  • Frank Rijkaard (Netherlands)
  • Clarence Seedorf (Netherlands)
  • Marco van Basten (Netherlands)
  • Edwin van der Sar (Netherlands)
  • Ruud van Nistelrooy (Netherlands)
  • Robin van Persie (Netherlands)
  • George Best (Northern Ireland)
  • Eusebio (Portugal)
  • Luis Figo (Portugal)
  • Rui Costa (Portugal)
  • Gheorghe Hagi (Romania)
  • Lev Yashin (Russia)
  • Kenny Dalglish (Scotland)
  • Nemanja Vidic (Serbia)
  • Emilio Butragueno (Spain)
  • Iker Casillas (Spain)
  • Fernando Hierro (Spain)
  • Raul (Spain)
  • Carles Puyol (Spain)
  • Fernando Torres (Spain)
  • Xabi Alonso (Spain)
  • Xavi (Spain)
  • Henrik Larsson (Sweden)
  • Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine)
  • Ian Rush (Wales)
Ben Wilson

I'm GamesRadar's sports editor, and obsessed with NFL, WWE, MLB, AEW, and occasionally things that don't have a three-letter acronym – such as Chvrches, Bill Bryson, and Streets Of Rage 4. (All the Streets Of Rage games, actually.) Even after three decades I still have a soft spot for Euro Boss on the Amstrad CPC 464+.