Destiny 2's first DLC expansion is called Curse of Osiris - we're going to Mercury

TODO alt text

You're probably still getting used to all of the stuff in Destiny 2's base game, but we already know what its first DLC expansion will be about: Mercury. As in the closest planet to the sun, not the only metal that's liquid at room temperature. A listing on the Microsoft Store revealed a title and some gameplay details for Expansion 1: Curse of Osiris and Activision has confirmed to Game Informer that the listing is indeed legitimate.

Here's the text from the store:

"Destiny 2 Expansion I: Curse of Osiris continues your Guardian’s journey with all-new story missions and adventures set in a new destination, Mercury. Journey through time and space to learn the secrets of Osiris, avert a dark future, and rebuild the ties between the legendary Warlock and his greatest student - Ikora Rey.


- Explore Mercury and its mysterious 'Infinite Forest'

- New story missions and adventures

- New themed weapons, armor, and gear to earn

- New cooperative activities

- New competitive multiplayer arenas

- And more…"

The most tantalizing morsel in there is the name "Infinite Forest", which likely refers to the new in-game destination. Is it really infinite, implying some kind of Minecraft-style, paradoxically procedural landmass generation, or is that term metaphorical? Mercury is a Vex-dominated world, so maybe "infinite" refers to their timeline-tweaking shenanigans. Imagine how cool it would be to explore a whole new zone infused with Vault-of-Glass style time travel!

Curse of Osiris will compose the first half of the $34.99/£29.99 Destiny 2 expansion pass. We still don't know when either DLC expansion is set to arrive, unfortunately.