Google+

Resistance 3 preview: Mankind's last stand already feels epic

After a surprising wobble from the superb Resistance: Fall of Man to the not-so-great sequel, Insomniac appear to be returning to their roots with Resistance 3. During our hands-on time with a small section of the game set in Haven, Oklahoma, it's blatantly clear that the atmosphere of the original is back in full effect - that, and the weapon wheel makes a welcome return, but we'll fill you in on that later.


Above: "We're going to need a bigger gun"

The game appears to focus less on cosmetically pleasing set-pieces like the <yawn> Leviathan marching through Chicago and the scene where you appear from underground to be greeted with the sight of San Francisco being razed to it's hippy knees like in Resistance 2, and more on you (read: Capelli) and a band of gun-wielding civilians. You feel less like a one-man army than Nathan Hale - the hero of the previous two games - does too - relying heavily on cover as the Chimera pour in from every nook and cranny. There's a real sense of desperateness and every shot must count as ammo is scarce. But this is what an alien invasion would feel like, right? Probably.

Enough words. Watch the level we played with your eyes right now...


But what did we learn from our time with the demo? Firstly, it's grittier than before. There was a sort of day-glo filter on Resistance 2 that has been replaced with a brown filter here. Sounds dull, but it's to depict the desolation of the town and with the wind whipping all around it feels like you're duking it out in the middle of a tornado. Also, as you've probably gathered from the previous trailers, the resistance really is full of regular Joes and Joannas. Desperate to survive they pick up weapons and fight alongside you, which is good because the military have been over-run by the Chimera and are mostly taking a dirt nap.


Above: Hybrids seem to be better equipped in the AI department. They'll dash to cover more often now

The weapons feel more punchy than before too. Wielding the .44 Magnum has a really satisfying thud as the bullets punch an enemy to the floor. The secondary fire is still a small explosion activated by squeezing R2 but because we hadn't remembered to use this before we'd emptied an entire clip, when we did we were treated to a devastating chain-reaction of explosions that spread across the level like a fireworks display gone wrong.

A nice new twist is the ability to level up guns the more you use them. From what we can tell from the demo experience, this happens automatically. We bagged a load of kills with the Bullseye - the Chimera's standard issue, laser weapon that can tag foes and still hit them over/around targets - and a little icon flashed up to let us know the upgrade had been unlocked and applied. This rewards you for having loyalty to a certain weapon. Whether you name her 'Barbara' in your mind, is up to you, buddy.


Above: Don't cry for the man on the floor. He's already dead

That scrap with the hulk Chimera - the massive one that tears up bits of pavement - is a real rush. He charges in like a bull, which is tricky to side-step with a quick "olé!", batters you senseless and throws you around like a ragdoll. So you'll be able to take him down with a number of different tactics. We choose to snipe him from the top of a building like a coward - a big, safe from danger, coward.

In summary, Resistance 3 is shaping up nicely and the gritty atmosphere coupled with the rampant action really makes for a thrilling FPS. Personally, I'm more excited about this than Killzone 3 as it's putting you in a more grounded situation and having the familiar surroundings of real world environments just makes the killing that little bit more engaging.

Oh, almost forgot, you've still got plenty of time to get your name Resistance 3 too. Click here for details UK Only.

February 3rd 2011

Topics

Sony

30 comments

  • gilgamesh310 - February 5, 2011 11:16 p.m.

    nishravichandran, You do realise that there are a shitload of different people involved with a shitload of different stuff. Nathan Irvine wasn't the person responisible for the review at gamesradar of either Resistance 1 or 2. There are inconsistencies and contradictions the whole time because loads of different articles are written by different people. Chexk out any info on Alan Wake and you will see a heap of different views on it. David Houghton is the only one that appreciates it.
  • celticsfan645 - February 5, 2011 9:18 p.m.

    I like Insomniac. Spyro was good (the first three, not the souless legend of spyro series) and the Ratchet and Clank Series back when my 360 was a PS2
  • nishravichandran - February 5, 2011 6:49 p.m.

    From the Resistance 2 review on Gamesradar: "It’s such moments that were noticeably absent from the original game, which might have been the stand-out title of the PS3 launch but can’t claim to be the console’s best FPS. Resistance 2, however, is in with a shout as Insomniac Games have delivered a master class in how to make a sequel." Inconsistency much?
  • barrage7667 - February 4, 2011 6:55 p.m.

    also the second game was made so they could get rid of nathan hale because he was a shit main character because he had absolutely no lines AT ALL in the first game. I mean, at least Master Chief spoke occasionally! (he was a master chief ripoff)
  • barrage7667 - February 4, 2011 6:51 p.m.

    THE GUN WHEEL RETURNS!! JOY TO THE WORLD!!! now they dont have to strategically place the exact weapon u should use directly in the path making it completely obvious what gun you should use and completely ruling out any gun choices you possibly could make!!! just saying that getting rid of the gun wheel was a shit move
  • Channel4 - February 4, 2011 3:20 p.m.

    Definately looks like a massive improvement over 2, but I was hoping that it would go back to the gameplay style of the first. Which aprt from the weapon wheel it hasn't.
  • GamesRadar_NathanIrvine - February 4, 2011 11:44 a.m.

    @WillisTron It's down to personal opinion and hindsight being a beautiful thing. While Resistance 2, as a package, was ace, the action felt way more forced than the original. Couple that with the cheap water-based Chimera that made sure you weren't allowed to swim and it lost some of it's character, for me anyway. Even the Insomniac developer I spoke to said that R2 suffered from a relatively short turnaround time and the team trying too hard to cater for fans. They weren't disappointed by the game but knew they could do better with it. But I guess it's down to personal preference.
  • Gameguy94 - February 3, 2011 10:45 p.m.

    Now THAT'S more like it. Seriously I don't know how they fucked up Resistance 2 but this should definitely make up for that clusterfuck of a game.
  • EvilChicken - February 3, 2011 9:37 p.m.

    TO MANY GOOD GAMES THIS YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Bawheidbob - February 3, 2011 9:04 p.m.

    Wish i could learn how to FPS with console joypads :(
  • Pocotron - February 3, 2011 9:02 p.m.

    Resistance sort of had that Halo effect: The first one was a great campaign with good multiplayer, and the second game had a so-so campaign with a better multiplayer. At least that's how I view it.
  • Imthedoctor - February 3, 2011 8:59 p.m.

    i'm so pumped for this. I loved the 2nd, but i didnt like that there was'nt any offline co-op..hopefully they fix that
  • RavielDeSilverlake - February 3, 2011 8:41 p.m.

    My question is: are the NPC AI any better? I only play R2 for about 2-3h and a little of R on PSP. I must say that the scenario that your friendly NPC died is so plain stupid.
  • NightCrawler_358 - February 3, 2011 8:24 p.m.

    I love the two PS3 resistance games, so this is a definite buy for me. I'm really liking the new weapon designs and animations, as well as the spiffy new HUD. It also appears more realistic, especially with the new weather effects. Is Resistance 3 running on the same engine as Killzone 2?
  • ricochetguro - February 3, 2011 7:31 p.m.

    Resistance 2 was a great game(although different from the first) and got good reviews when it came out. Whats with the sudden barrage of hate for it?
  • db1331 - February 3, 2011 7:05 p.m.

    That's the brownest game I've ever seen.
  • NanoElite666 - February 3, 2011 6:15 p.m.

    Aaaaaw yeah, weapon wheel's back! One of my few complaints with the last game was that you could only carry two weapons at a time. Very uncharacteristic of an Insomniac game.
  • Turboash - February 3, 2011 5:46 p.m.

    R1 was fantastic... R2 sucked penguin cock... hopefully R3 will deliver.
  • TheSugarRay - February 3, 2011 5:40 p.m.

    That guy looks so... headshotable.
  • zenprime - February 3, 2011 5:32 p.m.

    Health packs! Aww yeah.

Showing 1-20 of 30 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.