Sundance Update: The Awards 2009

Push – no, not the Dakota Fanning/Chris Evans action film, but the story of a girl’s struggles in the tough world of 1980’s Harlem – was the big winner at this year’s Sundance Film Festival.

Push: Based On A Novel By Sapphire, won the Grand Jury, Audience Award and star Mo’Nique snapped up the Special Jury Prize For Acting.

Push has since been bought by Lionsgate.

Other awards

Other winners included documentary We Live In Public and An Education, which has been gathering plenty of positive buzz and was handed the World Cinema Audience Award, Dramatic.

And while there was sadly no love for Dead Snow or Black Dynamite, we’re pleased to see that Treevenge was one of several shorts given special recognition.

Here’s the full list of winners in an easy-to-digest vertical format:

Grand Jury Prize, U.S. Dramatic:
“Push: Based on a novel by Sapphire,” Lee Daniels.

Grand Jury Prize, U.S. Documentary:
“We Live In Public,” directed by Ondi Timoner

World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic:
“The Maid,” directed by Sebastian Silva

World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary:
“Rough Aunties,” directed by Kim Longinotto

Audience Award, Dramatic:
“Push: Based on the novel by Sapphire,” directed by Lee Daniels.

Audience Award, Documentary:

“The Cove,” directed by Louise Psihoyos

World Cinema Audience Award, Dramatic:

“An Education,” directed by Lone Scherfig-

World Cinema Audience Award, Document ary:
“Afghan Star,” directed by Havana Marking

Excellence in Directing, U.S. Dramatic:
Cary Joji Fukunaga, “Sin Nombre”

Excellence in Directing, U.S. Documentary:
-Natalia Almada, “El General”

Excellence in Directing, World Dramatic :
Oliver Hirschbiegel, “Five Minutes of Heaven”

Excellence in Directing, World Documentary:

Havana Marking, “Afghan Star”

Excellence in Cinematography, U.S. Dramatic:
Adriano Goldman, “Sin Nombre”

Excellence in Cinematography, U.S. Documentary:
Bob Richman, “The September Issue”

Excellence in Cinematography, World Dramatic:
John De Borman, “An Education”

Excellence in Cinematography, World Documentary:
John Maringouin, “Big River Man”

Excellence in Editing, U.S. Documentary:
-Karen Schmeer, “Sergio”

Excellence in Editing, World Documentary:
Janus Billeskov, “Big River Man”

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award:
Nicholas Jasenovec and Charlyne Yi for “Paper Heart”

World Cinema Screenwriting Award:
Guy Hibbert, “Five Minutes of Heaven”

Special Jury Prize for “Spirit of Independence”:
“Humpday,” directed by Lynn Shelton

Special Jury Prize For Acting
Mo’Nique, in “Push: Based in a novel by Sapphire”

Special Jury Prize For U.S. Documentary:
“Good Hair,” directed by Jeff Stilson

World Cinema Special Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Catalina Saavedra for her performance in “The Maid”

World Cinema Special Jury Prize, Dramatic:

“Louise-Michel,” directed by Benoit Delepine and Gustave de Kervern, for its “originality”

World Cinema Special Jury Prize, Documentary :
“Tibet in Song,” directed by Ngawang Choephel

The Alfred P. Sloan Prize For a Feature Film:
“Adam,” directed by Max Mayer.

Sundance/NHK International Filmmakers Awards

Diego Lerman, “Ciencias Morales” (Moral Sciences)
David Riker, “The Girl”
Qurata Kenji, “Speed Girl”
Lucile Hadzihalilovic, “Evolution”

Jury Prize in International Short Filmmaking:
“Lies,” directed by Jonas Odell.

Jury Prize in Short Filmmaking:
“Short Term 12,” directed by Destin Daniel Cretton.

[Source: Variety ]

The Total Film team are made up of the finest minds in all of film journalism. They are: Editor Jane Crowther, Deputy Editor Matt Maytum, Reviews Ed Matthew Leyland, News Editor Jordan Farley, and Online Editor Emily Murray. Expect exclusive news, reviews, features, and more from the team behind the smarter movie magazine.