Skip to main content

New PS5 State of Play event rumoured for August 6

(Image credit: Sony PlayStation)

Another PS5 (opens in new tab) showcase could be taking place in two weeks' time, according to a new piece of internet gossip circulating social media. 

The rumour comes from industry insider Robert Serrano, who has form for accurately leaking PlayStation information ahead of time, having pre-emptively revealed the date for last month's PS5 Future of Gaming (opens in new tab) showcase in June. 

See more

According to Serrano, the PS5 State of Play stream will take place August 6 (two weeks tomorrow) from 1PM PT/4PM ET/9PM BST, live across YouTube, Twitch, and PlayStation's own website. 

Serrano didn't offer any further information, but reports of a PS5 focused State of Play in August have been doing the rounds for some time now, with rumours suggesting that Sony has plenty more next-gen games to show beyond Spider-Man: Miles Morales (opens in new tab), Horizon: Forbidden West (opens in new tab), and the other exclusives it debuted last month.

It is, as always, worth taking this info with plenty of salt, but if Sony really is planning to hold another PS5 showcase on August 6, then we can expect to hear about it either late next week or a few days before the stream itself. 

GamesRadar+ will, of course, keep you informed as we get closer to that floated date, so be sure to stay tuned here for more news as soon as it lands. For more details on PS5 pre-orders (opens in new tab), click on the link below. 

For more, check out the biggest new games of 2020 (opens in new tab) on the way, or watch the video below for the first look at Spider-Man: Miles Morales (opens in new tab).

Alex Avard
Alex Avard

I'm GamesRadar's Features Writer, which makes me responsible for gracing the internet with as many of my words as possible, including reviews, previews, interviews, and more. Lucky internet!