Google+

Mirror’s Edge Pure Time Trial Map Pack - review

Seven new maps come with this updated for Time Trial mode: running alone against the clock, in this case through abstract obstacle courses of floating blocks. They’re strikingly beautiful in a different way to the game’s real-world city: spacey, chunky, dreamlike.

But a game mode about split-second efficiency doesn’t lend itself to long, illogical levels littered with red-herring blocks that turn out to be just decorative, or to platforms so bright it’s hard to even distinguish them. Your wonderfully exhilarating early momentum is usually undone by one serious slip of the game’s grabbing logic on a tricky jump seconds from the end, causing more fury than fun.

Apr 29, 2009

7 comments

  • Gahmah - April 30, 2009 12:27 p.m.

    have you tried lowering your gamma in the game's options or your television set?
  • Unoriginal - April 30, 2009 11:52 a.m.

    But how is this a feature?
  • may.be.vital - April 30, 2009 2:47 a.m.

    Ya most DLC reviews don't go that in depth... It is a perfectly fine review in proportion to how much new content there is. This is like an add-on to the actual Mirror's Edge review.
  • Jimmyjammy - April 30, 2009 4:28 p.m.

    Seems to have some of the same problems I had with Mirror's edge on its own then. I fucking hated having to work out where to bloody go. I know it's petty but I just wanted to run. The game was so much more fun when the way was clear and you could just get to your objective as fast as possible.
  • understudybass - April 30, 2009 4:03 a.m.

    it's also not an in-house review so you can't blame 'em. blame PC Gamer UK for being shitty.
  • kubes - April 30, 2009 2:13 a.m.

    i thought they did enough i mean its a small DLC
  • Defguru7777 - April 30, 2009 12:52 a.m.

    What the hell? I'm sorry, but can you guys try writing more than two paragraphs next time?

Showing 1-7 of 7 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.