Xbox One release delayed into 2014 in eight regions

Xbox One will launch in only 13 of its 21 previously announced markets in November. Microsoft revealed today on the Xbox Wire news blog (opens in new tab) that it's unable to meet quality concerns for all regions while sticking to its previously announced timeframe.

The eight delayed regions--Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and Switzerland--will host their own Xbox One launches as soon as possible in 2014. Microsoft said it needed more time to localize the system's interface, add more voices and languages (presumably a substantial task for Kinect voice recognition), and "build partnerships to bring apps and meaningful local content to each country."

On the bright side, pre-orders made in the affected regions will now come with an unspecified game included for free. If you live in one of the eight regions and already had an Xbox One on reserve, contact your retailer for more information.

November plans remain unaffected for the remaining 13 countries: Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Spain, U.K., U.S., and New Zealand.

I got a BA in journalism from Central Michigan University - though the best education I received there was from CM Life, its student-run newspaper. Long before that, I started pursuing my degree in video games by bugging my older brother to let me play Zelda on the Super Nintendo. I've previously been a news intern for GameSpot, a news writer for CVG, and now I'm a staff writer here at GamesRadar.