Skip to main content

Xbox Australia is teasing an announcement, but we’re not sure for what

(Image credit: Microsoft)

The official Xbox Twitter account for Australia and New Zealand is teasing an event right before the Xbox Series X and Xbox Series S launch around the world.

As you can see below, the official Xbox ANZ Twitter account tells users to tune in at 11 p.m. NZDT/9 p.m. AEDT, on November 9. That time equates to 5 a.m. EDT earlier that same day.

See more

That said, we're not really sure what the Xbox account is teasing here. It's obviously worth noting that 11 p.m. in New Zealand marks just one hour before the Xbox Series X/S are first available on November 10, so it's entirely possible that it could be a countdown stream of sorts.

We've checked elsewhere, and none of the other regional Xbox accounts on Twitter have posted anything similar at the time of writing. It's possible that other regions around the world will have their own countdown streams before Microsoft's consoles launch in their region, but we've yet to see any announcements.

Underneath the original announcement though, the Xbox ANZ account has tagged @PureNewZealand, the official Twitter account for tourism in New Zealand. It could be that the announcement on November 9 will focus on New Zealand's lush landscapes in some form.

See more

As we mentioned previously, we're now less than a month away from both the Xbox Series X and Xbox Series S launching worldwide on November 10. If you're still looking to reserve either of Microsoft's consoles, head over to either our Xbox Series X pre-orders guide, or our page on the Xbox Series S pre-orders for more.

For a list of all the games you can play on Microsoft's more powerful console on day one, head over to our Xbox Series X launch games guide.

Hirun Cryer

I’m Gamesradar’s freelance reporter! I love grinding away at RPGs, losing at Apex Legends, and talking about anime for far too long.