Skip to main content

Xbox Series X event definitely only about games, Xbox executive reaffirms

(Image credit: 343 Industries)

Xbox really wants you to know that Thursday's Xbox Games Showcase really is just about games, meaning definitely don't expect Xbox Series X pricing or hardware news.

After first taking to Twitter last week to temper expectations around the event, Xbox marketing head Aaron Greenberg has once again reaffirmed that with the Xbox Games Showcase, you're getting exactly what's on the tin: Xbox games.

This comes after Greenberg himself admitted that the company "set some wrong expectations" ahead of May's Inside Xbox event. With two clarifications now that the Xbox Games Showcase won't reveal news about the Xbox Series X itself, it's clear Microsoft is keen not to repeat their mistake.

And while we're all waiting anxiously for Xbox Series X pre-order and pricing info, there's a lot to look forward to in Thursday's event. First up is a Summer Game Fest pre-show, which will showcase "reveals, predictions, insights from YouTube creators, and more on some already-announced titles coming to Xbox." You can tune into the stream at 8am PDT / 11am EDT / 4pm BST July 23 at 9 am PDT / noon EDT / 5 pm BST.

The main event follows an hour later, and while we don't know everything in store, we do know we'll be seeing the debut of the Halo Infinite campaign, which is more than enough reason to watch. It also suggests single-player gameplay will be the focus for the Halo Infinite portion of the event.

Here's our own Josh West on the biggest questions the Xbox Series X games showcase needs to answer.

I'm GamesRadar's green tea-fueled, late-night news hound. I'm perpetually in search of an MMO to recapture the feeling of playing Ultima Online in the early 2000s, and I'm still sorting out self-esteem issues from being relegated to second player duties growing up with two older brothers. On a related note, I'm irrationally defensive of Luigi and his mansion.