Skip to main content

There's a Mario Tennis Aces celebrity tournament happening for charity

(Image credit: Nintendo)

Tennis stars and sister duo Venus and Serena Williams are taking to Mario Tennis Aces for a stay-at-home tournament, with proceeds going to the winner's chosen charity.

The list of participants is lengthy and wide-ranging, featuring celebrities in sports, music, and modeling. Everyone participating gets $25,000 to donate to a charity of their choosing, and the winner gets an additional $1 million to donate. 

A collaboration between talent management company IMG and Facebook Gaming, the Stay at Home Slam is a Doubles-only tennis competition where participants can face off from the comfort and safety of home. You can catch it on Facebook Gaming or IMG's Facebook page Sunday, May 3 at 1pm PT / 4pm ET / 9pm BST. Here's a complete list of everyone participating and who they're matched up with (h/t Polygon):

  • Serena Williams & Gigi Hadid
  • Naomi Osaka & Hailey Bieber
  • Venus Williams & DeAndre Hopkins
  • Maria Sharapova & Karlie Kloss
  • Kei Nishikori & Steve Aoki
  • Madison Keys & Seal
  • Taylor Fritz & Addison Rae
  • Kevin Anderson & Ryan Tannehill

It's not the only way celebrities are raising money for charity from home. Tom Holland hosted a Marvel quiz on his Instagram page benefiting The Brothers Trust, an organization spotlighting charities that need help most. Meanwhile, former Nintendo of America president Reggie Fils-Aime is starting a podcast and directing proceeds to a charity bringing video games and education to underserved communities in the Bronx, New York.

Here's all the ways the video game community is helping in the fight against coronavirus.

As GamesRadar's Arizona-based Staff Writer, I'm responsible for managing the site's western regional executive branch, AKA my apartment, and writing about whatever horror game I'm too afraid to finish. Probably drinking green tea.