Skip to main content

Battlefield 2042 open beta times: now open to everyone

Battlefield 2042 Portal
(Image credit: EA)

If you're wondering about the Battlefield 2042 open beta times around the world, then you've come to the right place.

The Battlefield 2042 open beta technically began earlier this week, with pre-loads from October 5 and early access on October 6-7. Today, October 8, however, marks the beginning of a two-day open beta available to absolutely everyone.

The Battlefield 2042 open beta did suffer a brief delay early this morning - originally set to begin at 00:00 PT/03:00 ET/08:00 BST, timings were changed late last night. In a tweet posted early this morning, DICE confirmed that "to keep things running smoothly, we'll take some time to perform essential maintenance on the servers before we switch to Open Access."

That resulted in a two-hour window of downtime before the servers opened back up again at 02:00 PT/05:00 ET/10:00 BST, meaning all players should now be able to access the game until servers close tomorrow. It's not clear whether EA and DICE plan to postpone that closure to make up for the extra couple of hours that players missed out on this morning, but even once matchmaking goes down, you'll be able to maintain some degree of access to the game until October 10, when the beta build is taken offline.

If you're holding out for the real thing, Battlefield 2042 finally launches next month on October 19 for PC, PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X, and Xbox Series S.

For our hands-on experience so far with the beta, you can head over to our full Battlefield 2042 open beta preview for more. 

Hirun Cryer

I’m Gamesradar’s freelance reporter! I love grinding away at RPGs, losing at Apex Legends, and talking about anime for far too long.