2008 Hugo Award winners announced

Michael Chabon (The Yiddish Policeman's Union) takes home this year's Hugo Award for Best SF Novel, Doctor Who's "Blink" episode picks one up for Best Dramatic Presentation Short Form, and Stardust gets the gong for Long Form - that's the headline news from this year's ceremony out at Worldcon in Denver .

Given annually since 1955, the Hugo Awards (named for editor Hugo Gernsback, founder of the celebrated SF magazine Amazing Stories) are the genre's most prestigious award, voted for annually by all the members of the current World Science Fiction Convention - this year's were announced out in Denver last night, Saturday 9 August 2008. The Master of Ceremony was Colorado's Wil McCarthy, SF novelist and science pundit.

This year's rocket-shaped Hugo trophy, courtesy of Denvention .

Commiserations to our own SFX columnist David Langford , who did not win another trophy to add to his collection this time.

Those results in full:

Best Novel: The Yiddish Policemen's Union by Michael Chabon (HarperCollins; Fourth Estate)

Best Novella: "All Seated on the Ground" by Connie Willis (Asimov's December 2007; Subterranean Press)

Best Novelette: "The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate" by Ted Chiang (Subterranean Press; F&SF September 2007)

Best Short Story: "Tideline" by Elizabeth Bear (Asimov's June 2007)

Best Non-Fiction Book: Brave New Words - The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction by Jeff Prucher (OUP)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: Stardust (Paramount Pictures)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Doctor Who "Blink" (BBC)

Best Editor, Long Form: David G Hartwell

Best Editor, Short Form: Gordon van Gelder

Best Professional Artist: Stephan Martiniere

Best Semiprozine: Locus

Best Fanzine: File 770

Best Fan Writer: John Scalzi

Best Fan Artist: Brad Foster

Also revealed of course was the John W Campbell Award for Best New Science Fiction Writer , which went to Mary Robinette Kowal.

Our congratulations to all the winners!

Additional information via SF Signal and the blog from publisher Tor .