Arthur C Clarke Award Submissions Revealed

Every year the organisers of the Arthur C Clarke Award release the full list of novels submitted for consideration by the judging panel. This is not a long-list, but rather the full list of submitted titles which the judges will debate and select their shortlist of six titles.

2012 was a record year for submissions with 32 publishing imprints putting forward a total of 82 novels for consideration, a jump of over a third from last year's equally record-breaking total of 60 titles.

Award Director Tom Hunter said:

“The profile of the Clarke Award is rising year on year, and this is reflected in both the number and diversity of titles submitted for consideration for this year’s prize. We feel it’s more important than ever to make this full list available to everyone so SF readers everywhere can see both the scope of the genre and also appreciate the challenge the judges face in selecting just six titles to go forward on their shortlist.”

The shortlist for the 2013 Arthur C Clarke Award will be revealed on Thursday 4 April, with the winner being announced in a special ceremony hosted by The Royal Society in London on Wednesday 1 May.

Let us know what your shortlist of six from the list of submissions would be.

The Children's Hospital by Chris Adrian (Grant)

Crewel by Gennifer Albin (Faber & Faber)

vN by Madeline Ashby (Angry Robot)

Zero Point by Neal Asher (Tor UK)

The Drowned Cities by Paolo Bacigalupi (Atom)

Pure by Juliana Baggott (Headline)

Juggernaut by Adam Baker (Hodder & Stoughton)

The Hydrogen Sonata by Iain M. Banks (Orbit)

Nod by Adrian Barnes (Bluemoose)

Turbulence by Samit Basu (Titan Books)

Iron Winter by Stephen Baxter (Gollancz)

The Teleportation Accident by Ned Beauman (Sceptre)

Dark Eden by Chris Beckett (Corvus)

Exit Kingdom by Alden Bell (Tor UK)

The Troupe by Robert Jackson Bennett (Orbit)

The Dream Killer of Paris by Fabrice Bourland (Gallic Fiction)

Existence by David Brin (Orbit)

alt.human by Keith Brooke (Solaris)

Helix Wars by Eric Brown (Solaris)

The Folly of the World by Jesse Bullington (Orbit)

Empire State by Adam Christopher (Angry Robot)

Celebrant by Michael Cisco (Chomu Press)

The Lost Men by David A. Colón (Elsewhen Press)

Caliban's War by James SA Corey (Orbit)

London Falling by Paul Cornell (Tor UK)

The Twelve by Justin Cronin (Orion)

Talulla Rising by Glen Duncan (Canongate)

Earth Girl by Janet Edwards (HarperVoyager)

The Eternal Flame by Greg Egan (Gollancz)

The Woman Who Died a Lot by Jasper Fforde (Hodder & Stoughton)

The Stranger's Magic by Max Frei (Gollancz)

Blue Friday by Mike French (Elsewhen Press)

The Thousand Emperors by Gary Gibson (Tor UK)

EVE: Templar On e by Tony Gonzales (Gollancz)

Blackout by Mira Grant (Orbit)

The Ward by S.L. Grey (Corvus)

Champion of Mars by Guy Haley (Solaris)

Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway (William Heinemann)

Empty Space by M. John Harrison (Gollancz)

The Dog Stars by Peter Heller (Headline)

Wool by Hugh Howey (Century)

Worth Their Weight in Blood by Carole Jahme (Mira Books)

Insignia by S.J. Kincaid (Hot Key Books)

The Games by Ted Kosmatka (Titan Books)

The Company of the Dead by David J. Kowaski (Titan Books)

Age of Aztec by James Lovegrove (Solaris)

Intrusion by Ken MacLeod (Orbit)

The Killables by Gemma Malley (Hodder & Stoughton)

The Flame Alphabet by Ben Marcus (Granta)

In the Mouth of the Whale by Paul McAuley (Gollancz)

Chimera by T.C. McCarthy (Orbit)

Transmission by John Meaney (Gollancz)

The Glimpse by Claire Merle (Faber & Faber)

Railsea by China Miéville (Macmillan)

Kimberly's Capital Punishment by Richard Milward (Faber & Faber)

Thy Kingdom Come by Simon Morden (Jurassic London)

LiGa by Sanem Ozdural (Elsewhen Press)

The Chosen Seed by Sarah Pinborough (Gollancz)

The Long Earth by Terry Pratchett & Stephen Baxter (Doubleday)

Boneshaker by Cherie Priest (Tor UK)

The Fractal Prince by Hannu Rajaniemi (Gollancz)

Pulse by Tricia Rayburn (Faber & Faber)

The Demi-Monde: Spring by Rod Rees (Jo Fletcher Books)

Blue Remembered Earth by Alastair Reynolds (Gollancz)

Jack Glass by Adam Roberts (Gollancz)

2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)

Triggers by Robert Sawyer (Gollancz)

Redshirts by John Scalzi (Gollancz)

The Fury by Alexander Gordon Smith (Faber & Faber)

The Explorer by James Smythe (HarperVoyager)

The Testimony by James Smythe (Blue Door)

Crandolin by Anna Tambour (Chomu Press)

Deadfall Hotel by Steve Rasnic Tem (Solaris)

Entanglement by Douglas Thompson (Elsewhen Press)

Communion Town by Sam Thompson (4 th Estate)

Bitter Seeds by Ian Tregillis (Orbit)

Ecko Rising by Danie Ware (Titan Books)

The Outcast and the Little One by Andy West (NewCon Press)

Alif the Unseen by G Willow Wilson (Corvus)

Place of Dead Kings by Geoffrey Wilson (Hodder & Stoughton)

The Method by Juli Zeh (Harvill Secker)

The Return Man by VM Zito (Hodder & Stoughton)

You can follow The Arthur C Clarke Award on Twitter and find out about its new spin-off conference plan, Write The Future, at the official Kickstarter page .

SFX Magazine is the world's number one sci-fi, fantasy, and horror magazine published by Future PLC. Established in 1995, SFX Magazine prides itself on writing for its fans, welcoming geeks, collectors, and aficionados into its readership for over 25 years. Covering films, TV shows, books, comics, games, merch, and more, SFX Magazine is published every month. If you love it, chances are we do too and you'll find it in SFX.