Google+

We Recommend By ZergNet

131 comments

  • Jackstraw - November 15, 2012 5:11 p.m.

    These are pretty stupid. But then, so is a posting a full review of a game the same day it comes out,, with the tagline 'This game was reviewed on Xbox 360 at a review event.' So, a 'review' based on what sounds like a very short time spent playing SOME parts of the game.. Yeah, that's real credibility as opposed to these rash, uninformed 'reviews'.
  • Jackstraw - November 15, 2012 5:18 p.m.

    I honestly thought this article would include the gamesradar review... Seriously, it might as well have started out with 'FIRST!'
  • GR HollanderCooper - November 15, 2012 6:59 p.m.

    That's... not what actually happens...
  • alex-roy-bristol - November 16, 2012 1:32 a.m.

    Yeah' seriously... Do some people JUST make accounts to use like a display case in which to showcase their stupidity?!
  • Jackstraw - November 17, 2012 5:28 a.m.

    That's....What it says at the end of the review...
  • TheMariner - November 15, 2012 6:01 p.m.

    There's literally no point for these reviews (and I use that term lightly) to have been posted. If you don't like a game, then don't buy or play it. However if you want to franchise to improve, then post constructive criticism. Then again, I suppose it all comes down to haters gonna hate. That and if you want great graphics, go outside. I don't know about some people, but I play games for the gameplay...
  • ParagonT - November 15, 2012 7:18 p.m.

    Yeah, being constructive is a good way to go, but on another note, I understand why many give 0's and 1's many times. It's all about trying to balance out the score. If a game has a 9.8 out of 10, then it would stand to reason that there needs to be someone who will counter those hyped scores to balance out the score to a more fitting one.
  • ObliqueZombie - November 15, 2012 6:46 p.m.

    "And NO I didn't buy it, I borrowed it for from my friend, who hated it too..." God I LOL'd! Good job, gaming community, you're so fair and intelligent. Keep these up, GamesRadar, I get a good laugh from them.
  • larkan - November 15, 2012 7:38 p.m.

    I like the one that says it's a $60 map pack, that pretty much hit the nail on the head for CoD period.
  • SpiritTemple - November 16, 2012 2:25 a.m.

    Not even.
  • zombi3grim - November 15, 2012 8:37 p.m.

    Only at gamesradar do a majority of the comments agree with the reviews that were supposed to be made fun of. smh....
  • BaraChat - November 15, 2012 8:56 p.m.

    These are not so bad. They don't always make sense, but they're not extremely terrible. Although I do hate people who judge a game only based on its "graphics", but that's really a subjective point of view (I don't give a flying poop about a game's graphics on a technical standpoint, although I do appreciate when a developer put some work in the artistic departement of a game. That's what helps builds the atmosphere, not pixels or polygones or whatever). Anyway, I know someone like that who won't play a game if it's not a technological masterpiece, graphics-wise, no matter the content or gameplay. That's sad. Again, I know it's very subjective, but I stand by my opinion.
  • RadgarLaser2 - November 15, 2012 10:34 p.m.

    And why should we place as much trust in professional reviews over butt hurt reviews. Every large gaming review site shares some bias and plays ball to appeal to certain gaming companies that have major worldwide releases. They fluff up all the positives and sympathize with the negative to the point it's just user specific. It's part of the game now and the politics gamers have to deal with. I doubt any professional reviewers will give this anything less than a 9 because they get pressured and practically bribed in many ways with job security, early access, free swag, etc. Then there's the sympathy points for charities like the Call of Duty Endowment. Ultimately if you say you hate this game or any popular franchise these days, everyone makes you feel unpatriotic like you are against America and some sort of monstrous bigot. You guys are just enablers, telling kids to eat Mt Dew flavored Doritos, who's the monster now?
  • Viron - November 16, 2012 7 a.m.

    What you are saying is that these games can't be good even though professionals reviewers give them a high score? Did it ever cross your mind some people may like the game? Did it ever cross your mind that all of that stuff they're exposed to is also a marketing test to see if their consumers are happy with their product? And don't say "Well their consumers aren't happy with their product." We both know that is bullshit, their consumers are happy with it, they bought it in massive numbers and people who talk about franchise fatigue shouldn't be buying it unless they are massive hypocrites. The reality is people are upset that Treyarch and Activision have found a niche they may never need to grow out of, that they don't have to try to appeal to a wider audience. Because the mode of people has become "I don't like it so no one should" and I'm not referring to just you, I'm referring to all of us, including me. We have become so absorbed into the tools of narcissism, that we now think that we are all special snowflakes, who are all important in the world. The reality is none of the snowflakes give a shit about each other's individuality. So you all can cry about how gaming is dying or why there are so many "insert internet buzzword here" playing games now, but the sad truth is that game companies are moving on, like the media, like Star Wars, like politics, to the new generation. Because this one has already been used up and no longer wants to pay for their "shit" anymore, but those kids do. And they will. Get used to being old.
  • InFeRnOg - November 16, 2012 10:59 a.m.

    Treyarch and Activision have found a niche. Hah.
  • MolokoVeck - November 16, 2012 11:08 a.m.

    I believe Radgar was saying that because of the politics involved in the game industry you cannot always trust professional reviews. How often do you take the opinion of a "professional" review over that of your peers? If you want to see a movie do you pay more attention to professional critics or do you get a feel from your friends or online user communities of people you identify with? Just because Million Dollar Baby got rave reviews does not mean it was a great movie (though I am not saying great professional reviews mean you should avoid the thing being reviewed). The reality, as you have stated, is that many game companies have found their niche. You are correct that Treyarch and Activision do not have to appeal to a broader audience, especially since they already develop their games to appeal to just about the broadest audience possible. This is why us "old" gamers get frustrated with series like this. It is the same with any media really. It frustrates me that every tween the world over thinks Twilight is the most epic saga to ever grace the silver screen, but that is today's reality. Those films appeal to the masses, just as these games appeal to the masses. Simple solution: if you don't like it then don't play it. Luckily the CoD franchise is not the only choice and there are quite a few excellent options out there...
  • zombi3grim - November 16, 2012 1 p.m.

    I ALWAYS trust proffesional reviews over user ones. Because of the simple fact that their proffesionals. They do this every day all day for a living. They know what to look for. Their not some butthurt pissed of 12 year old fanboy raging in a comment box.
  • zombi3grim - November 16, 2012 1 p.m.

    I ALWAYS trust proffesional reviews over user ones. Because of the simple fact that their proffesionals. They do this every day all day for a living. They know what to look for. Their not some butthurt pissed of 12 year old fanboy raging in a comment box.
  • MolokoVeck - November 16, 2012 1:49 p.m.

    That depends on the users. I would not consider butthurt pissed off 12 year olds to be my peers. I prefer to stay away from the ranting of commenters for that very reason. Instead, if I am wary of the "professional" reviews then I seek out serious gamer opinions. There are plenty of people out there who give their honest opinion and who also have experience playing lots of games. If I ask a CoD fan (professional reviewer or not) what they think of the latest CoD they will likely give me a favorable opinion. If I seek out the opinion of a gamer who plays a variety of games and appreciates them for their intricate stories, attention to details, exceptional art direction, and engaging sound, then I will probably get a different result. Since those are some of the things that I appreciate in games then I seek out gamers who have similar tastes. Remember that "professional" reviewers are just people. They are gamers who have their own opinions and their own favorite games. While they may have more experience reviewing games, and a deeper insight into the gaming industry, their opinions are not any more or less valid than another's. Well, I suppose they are more valid than the butthurt fanboys... "The graffix are soooooo bad!!!!!" Really? Do better.
  • zombi3grim - November 16, 2012 2:21 p.m.

    So a gamer who likes a variety of games is going to tell you CoD is terrible? Well, heres a shocker. Im 25 years old. Ive been gaming since the NES. I play everything from Final Fantasy to Halo to Diablo 3. I love Skyrim, I love GTA and I also love CoD. I have probably the most mixed collection out of everyone on this entire site, a collection thats been growing since I was in middle school.
  • MolokoVeck - November 16, 2012 3:05 p.m.

    I have nothing against CoD games, and I understand why people like them, they just are not games that I enjoy. Yes, a lot of people like these games. Yes, they get great reviews. My point is that you cannot say that because a game gets great reviews that it is inherently a great game. Also, just because a lot of people like something does not make it good. The qualities of a game itself are what make the game good. The fact that you play and enjoy all of those games as well as CoD also does not have anything to do with how good the game is. You have your tastes, and I have mine. Making bold claims about your video game library does not add to your argument. You like CoD, and that is fine. I only posted in defense of Radgar's original post because I felt he had a good, though somewhat tongue-in-cheek point.

Showing 41-60 of 131 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.