Google+

Bulletstorm video - Full Access Preview

Calling this here FAP a “preview” is a bit of a misnomer, but hey, the game’s technically not out yet. The demo, however, just hit 360 and PS3 this morning and we were among the first to download and revel in the wonderfully unnecessary nastiness:

 

 

The demo showcases Echoes mode, a more arcadey and streamlined offshoot of the singleplayer campaign, where you commit creative atrocities for points on a leaderboard. As you can see above, we didn’t truly do it justice. We failed to perform a proper slide, nor could we pull off any of the testicle decimating “Mercy Kills” despite our best efforts. *boo hoo* However, we still managed to keep in good spirits and nail our own admirable little ballet of blood… BUT only after we got stuck in the goddamned environment and had to restart? Bad Demo, BAD!


Above: Not a "Testi-Kill," but at least we shot his leg clean off

That glitch aside, the demo is fun as hell, and just so you know, we continued discovering stuff to do well after we stopped capturing. So before you accuse us of being biased against this or that, why don’t you hop the hell online and try it for yourself – it’s free, dingus. 

Head here to see our interview with Cliff Bleszinski concerning Bulletstorm or here to read our latest hand-on preview.

Jan 25, 2011

DC Universe Online video: Full Access Playthrough
GamesRadar's resident MMO and comic experts unite to take on the PS3's most ambitious game to date

 

Super Mario All-Stars: Full Access Preview
Take a video stroll through the Mushroom Kingdom's biggest hits

 


Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Full Access Video
Chris, Brett and Grimm get their hands on Capcom's blockbuster sequel

 


1942 & Black Tiger video: Full Access Playthrough
Brett, Chris and Eric test the Virtual Console's latest overpriced arcade "classics" so you don't have to

We Recommend By ZergNet

37 comments

  • ashleymenvielle - February 7, 2011 7:43 a.m.

    That was a shiny fap indeed ;)
  • hardcore_gamer1990 - January 31, 2011 1:07 a.m.

    Best thing to do - charged shot on the screamer. :)
  • Fistly - January 30, 2011 2:22 p.m.

    Keep the FAPS commin!
  • SunnyvaleTrash - January 27, 2011 6:14 p.m.

    Loved the demo. Had no troubles withe getting stuck on the environment, but I also couldn't pull off a slide-kick. Got the mercy shot a few times as well. Can't seem to pull-off a three store performance yet though. Gonna keep trying.
  • 435 - January 27, 2011 1:35 p.m.

    I appreciate the number of skill points Chris got. ;D
  • thevenomous1 - January 27, 2011 11:36 a.m.

    I got on the demo last night and its cool but getting stuck on the terrain is not that needs a definite fixing. I noticed some skillshots arent as consistent as they should be no matter how good your aim is.Bullet kick and gag reflex are easy enough but mercy skillkills are hard I only pulled it off twice and that sucks. I got a boned skillshot when I boosted the carbine and used it on a guy but when I tried it on another play through nothing. So I think some sort of in game skillshot reference would be nice so you know exactly what criteria you need to meet to get the bonus. You guys said there were no environmental kills you musta missed all the electronic panels and pitfalls that would give you shocker and vertigo skillkills. I also noticed theres an area right next to the item bench where you can down booze. It puts you in a drunken stumble but gives you a skill booster. I reminded me of a scene in GAMER. Also I found that if you get some of the green freaks head juice on you that gives you a toxic booster and has you seeing green for a few seconds. Its cool but if you just wanna headshot melee and normal kill your better off playing anything else cuz this game is most satisfying when you kill with skill. I hit the wall at like 9785 but Ill get better.
  • CanadianBeaverHunter - January 27, 2011 5:53 a.m.

    Looking good.
  • MrTea - January 27, 2011 1:25 a.m.

    Nice! Chris died and all. Now just make the video player work on iphone please!
  • Gameguy94 - January 26, 2011 11:16 p.m.

    Yes the mercy shot is difficult to do. Don't be dissapointed if you can't get it the first time around.
  • juicenpancakes - January 26, 2011 10:24 p.m.

    I love me some Reavers references... actually... I think those few references are just enough for me to go watch a few episodes and further wear out my DVDs of Firefly.
  • Roflcoptersmileyface - January 26, 2011 10:09 p.m.

    Cool fap chis! Hope to be seeing your fap's in the future
  • StoneDreadnaught - January 26, 2011 8:08 p.m.

    My friend and I are competing for the high score in this. So far, I'm winning with 10,465 points ^^ ProTip: The Screamer (aka revolver) best thing to use for Mercy set-ups. Also, Flail Gun is just plain awesome (Aim the power-shot for the Flail Gun at a group of enemies' necks and you'll get the French Revolution skill shot) reCAPTCHA: psychotic tstingst - Appropriate for Bulletstorm FAP, I think.
  • BigLandoz - January 26, 2011 7:58 p.m.

    This looks like a blasts. Downloading the demo right now. Gorram reavers...
  • Felixthecat - January 26, 2011 7:57 p.m.

    I'll definitely be getting the game. Demo is great, if a little hard to get used to at first. Oh, and great FAP.
  • Shuuvuia - January 26, 2011 7:50 p.m.

    The Mercy kill is definately in the demo, you just have to hit them in the precise spot of their... privates... :/
  • metroid2099400 - January 26, 2011 5:36 p.m.

    Don't worry, Chris, I got the Reavers comment. This is looking pretty awesome, I may just have to download the demo. Thanks for another excellent FAP, guys!
  • Im2awesome - January 26, 2011 4:33 p.m.

    Love this game, played for 2 hours last night. Got around 10455 for my best, it was fantastic :D You can only use the thumper (the super leash move) 3 times in the demo, same with all the other special ammo. And mercy killing only works on REGULAR humans, not those green alien things, and not the fat shotgunners. You have to shoot him in the crotch with like your first or second shot. And to top it off, you dont need to kick him in the head, just any shot to the face will grant you MERCY killshot.
  • goochbiscuit - January 26, 2011 3:50 p.m.

    I laughed when the game called me dick-tits and told me it wasn't going to preorder itself.
  • philipshaw - January 26, 2011 3:38 p.m.

    Great FAP and Chris's rage made me lol. This game looks fun, must download the demo when I get home
  • Darkhawk - January 26, 2011 5:17 a.m.

    The environmental kill/point mechanic reminds me of Madworld.

Showing 1-20 of 37 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.