Skip to main content

The King's Speech takes Best Picture at the PGA Awards

In the run-up to the Oscars, British period drama The King's Speech has bagged another big award.

The Producers Guild of America handed out the 21st Annual PGA Awards yesterday, in a ceremony hosted by Judd Apatow.

The Colin Firth-starrer took home the Best Picture award after having recently bagged a bucketload of BAFTA noms, and this latest accolade will only strengthen its Oscar hopes.

In other news, it was unlikely that anyone fainted with shock when Toy Story 3 was announced as the winner of the animated category.

Check out the full list of nominees and winners below:

Theatrical Motion Picture Nominees:

Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:
* The King's Speech (Winner)
* 127 Hours
* Black Swan
* Inception
* The Fighter
* The Kids Are All Right
* The Social Network
* The Town
* Toy Story 3
* True Grit

Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:
* Toy Story 3 (Winner)
* Despicable Me
* How To Train Your Dragon

Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures:
* Waiting for Superman (Winner)
* Client 9: The Rise and Fall of Eliot Spitzer
* Earth Made of Glass
* Inside Job
* Smash His Camera
* The Tillman Story

Television Nominees:

Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:
* Modern Family (Winner)
* 30 Rock
* Curb Your Enthusiasm
* Glee
* The Office

Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama:
* Mad Men (Winner)
* Breaking Bad
* Dexter
* Lost
* True Blood

Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:
* The Pacific (Winner)
* Murder on the Orient Express
* Pillars of the Earth
* Temple Grandin
* You Don't Know Jack

Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:
* Deadliest Catch (Winner)
* Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations
* Intervention
* Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List
* Undercover Boss

Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment and Competition Television:
* The Colbert Report (Winner)
* The Amazing Race
* Project Runway
* Real Time with Bill Maher
* Top Chef

Special Individual Honorees

* James Cameron (Milestone Award)
* Tom Hanks and Gary Goetzman (Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television)
* Scott Rudin (David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures)
* Laura Ziskin (Visionary Award)
* RealD (Vanguard Award)