How to unlock Modern Warfare camos, including the high level Gold, Platinum and Damascus

modern warfare camos
(Image credit: Infinity Ward)

As is always the case with Call of Duty, there's plenty of Modern Warfare camos to grind for and unlock, whether you're playing Call of Duty Modern Warfare multiplayer or Call of Duty Warzone. From the basic spray paint and woodland camos to the mastery ones like Damascus and even Modern Warfare Obsidian, we've got all of the Modern Warfare camos explained for you here.

Modern Warfare camos are separated into two varieties: base camos, and sub-camos. The main camouflage types are:

  • Spray Paint
  • Woodland
  • Digital
  • Dragon
  • Splinter
  • Topo
  • Tiger
  • Stripes
  • Reptile
  • Skulls

The first ten camouflages are unlocked by increasing the Weapon’s XP Level. This is done simply by using the gun and getting kills with it. Once a base camouflage is unlocked, then a number of different variations to that camo are available upon completing challenges. For example: the base camouflage ‘Woodland’ is unlocked for the P90 once the player reaches Weapon Level 8. From there, the player must get a certain number of headshot kills with the P90 to unlock further variations of the Woodland camo, and so on. 

These weapon challenges are the same across weapon classes, ie every SMG will need to attain Headshot Kills to further progress along the ‘Woodland’ line, whereas the same camo might require different challenges in the Shotgun class. Even the Riot Shield has customisable camouflage options to unlock if you really want to keep busy. 

modern warfare shield camos

(Image credit: Infinity Ward)

Modern Warfare Gold, Platinum, Damascus, and Obsidian camos

There are also four mastery camouflage classes found in Modern Warfare: Gold, Platinum, Damascus and Obsidian. 

  • Gold camo - available when you have unlocked every other camo for their gun, aka completed all the camo challenges. 
  • Platinum camo - available when you have unlocked Gold camouflage for the entire weapon class. So, if you want Platinum camouflage for your MP7, you’ll need to rank up every other SMG to max level to get the Gold camo for each. 
  • Damascus camo - unlocked when every single gun in the game has earned the Platinum camouflage.
  • Obsidian camo - unlocked by completing kill challenges with specific guns, i.e 15 kills in 200 different matches with the MP5. You can only make a start on it once you've unlocked Gold for that specific weapon.

Nope, you're not reading that wrong: if you want the Modern Warfare Damascus camo, you have to complete every single camouflage challenge for every single weapon in the game. Let's be honest, a lot of people are never going to get close to that, although using the Double Weapon XP tokens available from playing through the single player campaign should provide players with a helpful boost in their quest to attain their camouflage of choice.

In the meantime this what the Gold, Damascus, and Obsidian options look like: 

(Image credit: CharlieINTEL)

(Image credit: CharlieINTEL)

Modern Warfare Obsidian camo

(Image credit: Activision/SoaR Nitroh (Twitter))

This huge number of unlockable camouflages sets a high standard of completion for players to reach, but if you're an avid Modern Warfare player, they're definitely worth grinding towards.