Skip to main content

Silver Linings Playbook wins big at the Independent Spirit Awards

Silver Linings Playbook has had one last rush of awards success ahead of the 2013 Oscars by scooping four gongs at the Independent Spirit Awards.

The romantic comedy-drama dominated the ceremony with four awards: including Best Feature, Best Actress for Jennifer Lawrence and Best Screenplay and Best Director for David O. Russell.

Elsewhere, The Perks Of Being A Wallflower was named Best First Feature, John Hawkes took Best Male Lead for The Sessions , Helen Hunt took Best Supporting Female (also for The Sessions ) and Matthew McConaughey won Best Supporting Male for his deliciously sleazy turn in Magic Mike .

Michael Haneke’s Amour took the Best International Feature trophy.

Here’s the full list of winners and nominees:

Best Feature
Beasts Of The Southern Wild
Keep The Lights On
Moonrise Kingdom

Winner: Silver Linings Playbook

Best Director
Wes Anderson - Moonrise Kingdom
Julia Loktev - The Loneliest Planet
Winner: David O. Russell - Silver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs - Keep The Lights On
Benh Zeitlin - Beasts Of The Southern Wild

Best First Feature
Fill The Void
Gimme The Loot
Safety Not Guaranteed
Sound Of My Voice

Winner: The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

John Cassavetes Award
Breakfast With Curtis
The Color Wheel
Winner: Middle Of Nowhere
Mosquita Y Mari

Best Male Lead
Jack Black - Bernie
Bradley Cooper - Silver Linings Playbook
Winner: John Hawkes - The Sessions
Thure Lindhart - Keep The Lights On
Matthew McConaughey - Killer Joe
Wendell Pierce - Four

Best Female Lead
Linda Cardellini - Return
Emayatzy Corinealdi - Middle Of Nowhere
Winner: Jennifer Lawrence - Silver Linings Playbook
Quvenzhane Wallis - Beasts Of The Southern Wild
Mary Elizabeth Winstead - Smashed

Best Supporting Male
Winner: Matthew McConaughey -
Magic Mike
David Oyelowo - Middle of Nowhere
Michael Pena - End Of Watch
Sam Rockwell - Seven Psychopaths
Bruce Willis - Moonrise Kingdom

Best Supporting Female
Rosemarie DeWitt - Your Sister's Sister
Ann Dowd - Compliance
Winner: Helen Hunt - The Sessions
Brit Marling - Sound Of My Voice
Lorraine Toussaint - Middle Of Nowhere

Best Screenplay
Wes Anderson - Moonrise Kingdom
Zoe Kazan - Ruby Sparks
Martin McDonagh - Seven Psychopaths
Winner: David O Russell - Silver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias - Keep The Lights On

Best First Screenplay
Rama Burshtein - Fill The Void
Winner: Derek Connolly - Safety Not Guaranteed
Christopher Ford - Robot & Frank
Rashida Jones & Will McCormack - Celeste & Jesse Forever
Jonathan Lisecki - Gayby

Best International Feature
Winner: Amour
Once Upon A Time In Anatolia
Rust & Bone
War Witch

Best Documentary
The Central Park Five
How To Survive A Plague
Winner: The Invisible War
Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present
The Waiting Room

Best Cinematography
Winner: Ben Richardson,
Beasts Of The Southern Wild
End Of Watch
Moonrise Kingdom
Valley Of The Saints

Piaget Producers Award
Mynette Louie - Stones In The Sun
Derrick Tseng - Prince Avalanche
Alicia Van Couvering - Nobody Walks

Someone To Watch Award
David Fenster - Pincus
Adam Leon - Gimme The Loot
Rebecca Thomas - Electrick Children

Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award
Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena Pravel - Leviathan
Peter Nicks - The Waiting Room
Jason Tippet and Elizabeth Mimms - Only The Young

Robert Altman Award

The 2013 Oscar results will be announced on as they happen throughout the night of 24 February 2013.

Matt Maytum
Matt Maytum

I'm the Deputy Editor at Total Film magazine, looking after the long-form features there, and generally obsessing over all things Nolan, Kubrick and Pixar. Over the past decade I've worked in various roles for TF online and in print, including at GamesRadar.