Skip to main content

Pokemon Sword and Shield Direct coming next week, will offer 15 mins of new info

Credit: Nintendo

Prepare yourself trainers; new information on the duo of Pokemon Sword and Shield games - Pokemon Sword and Shield - is coming next week. Nintendo and The Pokemon Company have announced that at 2PM BST /  9AM EDT / 6AM PDT on Wednesday, June 5, there will be a special Nintendo Direct focused on the games. 

"Tune in for roughly 15 minutes of new information on Pokemon Sword and Pokemon Shield for Nintendo Switch in a livestreamed Pokemon Direct presentation," reads the blurb on the Pokemon Direct page.

So far we've only had one dedicated Direct livestream for the games, but it was jam packed, revealing the first trailer, the confirmation of their names and setting, and introducing the three starter Gen 8 Pokemon - Grookey, Sobble, Scorbunny. If that first Direct was so info heavy, expect this one to be much the same. And don't forget, the release dates have been set for later this year. 

See more

Interestingly, there's a Pokemon Press Conference happening today, May 28 at 6PM PDT (2AM BST / 9PM EDT). Baring in mind that the Direct is happening next week, I'd be very surprised if today's conference included anything related to Pokemon Sword and Shield, but perhaps a teaser for the live stream itself could appear if we're lucky. 

See more

However, that conference may well pertain mostly to the Pokemon anime, or even Pokemon Go, but whatever it is, it's bound to be exciting and will reveal new Pokemon content for the year ahead. 

Want more Pokemon goodness? Why not check out some of these games like Pokemon to fill the void until Sword and Shield, or just watch the reveal trailer below to build the hype:

Sam Loveridge

Sam Loveridge is the Global Editor-in-Chief of GamesRadar, and joined the team in August 2017. Sam came to GamesRadar after working at TrustedReviews, Digital Spy, and Fandom, following the completion of an MA in Journalism. In her time, she's also had appearances on The Guardian, BBC, and more. Her experience has seen her cover console and PC games, along with gaming hardware, for over seven years, and for GamesRadar, she is in charge of reviews, best lists, and the overall running of the site and its staff. Her gaming passions lie with weird simulation games, big open-world RPGs, and beautifully crafted indies. Basically, she loves all games that aren't sports or fighting titles!