Google+

Monster Hunter Freedom Unite review

Great
AT A GLANCE
  • Filled with impressive detail
  • Can be played for hundreds of hours
  • Thousands of weapon and armor combinations
  • Combat can be protracted and frustrating
  • Pretty much all MMO-style grinding
  • Not as fun alone

Curse you, Monster Hunter. You’ve turned us into obsessive compulsive hoarders. We’ve learned to fish, farm and mine. We’ve mastered the arts of alchemy and blacksmithery. Damn it, Monster Hunter – you’re like frickin’ Rain Man; brilliant but so pedantic and stuck in your ways that you scare everyone away. Well, apart from the Japanese – they consume Monster Hunter with the same ferocity we eat M&Ms.

As you’ve probably guessed, Monster Hunter Freedom Unite (being an expansion for Freedom 2) is still an infuriating game. It maintains that you can’t lock-on to enemies and continues to annoy us with crappy cameras and repetitive missions. Plus, you need to spend hours trawling internet FAQs to work out how to make a pair of tights using a handful of berries, scales and rocks that took days to collect.

What you might not have guessed is that we love Monster Hunter; few games demand such tedious tasks for so little reward and still keep us playing. Similarly, while the new additions here aren’t much, gamers who have invested hundreds of hours will be overjoyed with something different to carve up. Adding over half a dozen new beasties (like the Hypnocatrice) means that there is not only fresh stuff to hunt but new weapons and armor to be created from their innards.

Will Monster Hunter Freedom Unite win new fans? No – and with few players outside of Japan it can’t even be appreciated for its multiplayer strengths. But do we still like it, despite its many flaws? Yes – it’s one of, if not the most customisable and time-consuming PSP games ever.

Jul 1, 2009

More Info

Release date: Jun 22 2009 - PSP (US)
Jun 26 2009 - PSP (UK)
Available Platforms: PSP
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Capcom
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
12+

We Recommend By ZergNet

10 comments

  • HunterX - July 29, 2010 2:08 p.m.

    I almost cant play the game alone. oh and NECROPOST FTW
  • bhash0402 - February 21, 2010 7:04 p.m.

    Please tell me were can i accurately download this game for free sorry for being such a noob.. tnkx a lot
  • Leviathan601 - June 25, 2013 1:14 p.m.

    You're not being a noob, you're being a cheap-ass bitch. It's like 20 bucks! Go buy it!
  • griffed88 - November 13, 2009 5:31 a.m.

    I got MHF2 and played for like 6 or 7 hours and I liked it at first, but it's just not my thing. Too much of a learning curve and too little reward. I just don't think it's worth the time it demands. at least for me it's not.
  • SegaOmega - July 7, 2009 8:07 p.m.

    is this better that the 1st N 2nd one? can u play with other people around the world or you have to hang with each other to play together? can some answer me back? thanks
  • Cyberninja - July 3, 2009 6:47 a.m.

    ill get this when i get a psp but many flaws dont get a 8
  • babo_u_da - July 2, 2009 10:03 p.m.

    "not as fun alone" is so true it hurts.. i need to get my friends to buy a psp/or MH and play with me
  • kd101 - August 4, 2009 11:57 p.m.

    "not as fun alone" is true i have been telling all my friends to get unite so we can play together
  • Donnagen - July 6, 2009 3:20 p.m.

    Oh mr cyberninja. How wrong you are. This game is frustrating, brutal, ball numingly difficult but i would still give it a ten while beating off the developer. It is so deep and addictive. REALLY IMPORTANT POINT!!: If you have a ps3 and create a japanese account you can download an app that allows you to play the game online by connecting the psp ad hoc to the ps3's connection. Must be a wired connection though.
  • hiyohi55 - July 2, 2009 10:26 p.m.

    oh shittt yaaaaaaaaa fucking seeeeeconddddd!!!!!!!!!!! this fucking game makes my dick hard!!!!!!!!! yyyyyyyeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh nigga!!!!!

Showing 1-10 of 10 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.