Google+

Killzone 2 - multiplayer preview

You may have missed it since only a select few gamers were invited, but the Killzone 2 closed beta trial has been well underway and word is the first hands-on raises more questions than it answers. The past three years have seen hype swell around Killzone 2 like no other game before it, so the chance for Joe Public to get hands-on and vent some opinions was a brave move by Sony. Brave and confident.

The upshot is that online, Killzone 2 apes the successes of Call of Duty 4. And why not? In style, animation and core gameplay, Killzone 2 aims to emulate the best shooter of this generation. Quick flipping from a standard to a down-the-scope view works just as well as in CoD4, as does the sprinting and grenade cooking. Even the controls are mapped to CoD4’s setup. So the question is: what is Killzone 2 bringing to the online party that you can’t get in CoD4 or even its sequel, World at War?

The answer seems to be good looks. Guerrilla’s game engine is immaculate. The animation on the grenade cooking, although similar to CoD4, adds some neat touches such as a rising indicator light that shows you how ‘cooked’ the grenade is. Sure, this is aimed at newcomers to the FPS battlefront whose timing is still way off, but it’s a nice touch and this shows that Sony wants to encourage everyone to get involved.

The eight beta maps on offer are massively detailed and packed with hidden depths, sniper spots, vertical vantage points and tight interior spaces to battle through. Every level features real-time physics on the scenery, ensuring that these maps feel less like pre-rendered backdrops and more like living worlds. Make no mistake about it, this is an incredible achievement. The only gripe seems to be that everything is so grey. Killzone on PS2 featured some lush locations once you’d left the initial city battle zone, and included a swamp, snowy mountains and a finale on an orbiting space station. This sequel appears resolutely bound by its grey urban and brownish wasteland settings – which is a little disheartening.

We Recommend By ZergNet

13 comments

  • Synster - November 19, 2008 2:32 a.m.

    I did hear myself from multiple sources, reliable ones at that that there was supposed to be new information released the 4th of December. Seeing as how last I checked, that's when the Beta members can actually talk about what's in the Beta.
  • Joshin69 - November 18, 2008 3:27 p.m.

    Having played Unmentioned beta, I am really looking forward to the release
  • flare149 - November 14, 2008 3:36 a.m.

    Dang..well I guess that answers my question. Been wondering if it really is Public or not for awhile, even sent an e-mail to Sony today hoping to get one of those cool secret hint repsonses. Originially I had heard it was gonna be for all Underground members, but I guess not : (
  • Synster - November 14, 2008 2 a.m.

    It could, but I've also seen in one of the trailers, though be it only for a few seconds, that they eventually did stray somewhat away from these colors you see. As for the online cover system portion, I'm personally glad they removed it so the matches wouldn't be as slow, not to mention weed out the campers.
  • GiantOmelette - November 18, 2008 10:11 p.m.

    for u people saying its too grey what do u want??? Killzone 3: Fight for Rainbowland??? The Helghan planet isn't all colourful etc. its an industrial area we are fighting in. Although i do think that we will be surprised by some levels in different locales
  • vic88 - November 18, 2008 5:30 a.m.

    in TF2 u cant "rank" up and have 250+ hours of game play. 12 grades is just fine
  • Jbo87 - November 15, 2008 2:16 a.m.

    Oh and if there is one game really making me consider buying a PS3 then Killzone 2 is it.
  • Jbo87 - November 15, 2008 2:14 a.m.

    "Killzone on PS2 featured some lush locations once you’d left the initial city battle zone, and included a swamp, snowy mountains and a finale on an orbiting space station." - Not really getting this statement. I dont know if the guy who previewed this game ever played the original Killzone but all of the levels were grey. The swamp was fairly grey despite the 'greenery', other than the white snow the rest of the mountain level was grey and as for the orbital station, well that was insanely grey. However I'm going to add that I loved the original Killzone. The current trend of bitching about games being grey and brown really gets to me. Who cares? As long as the game plays well and isnt an eyesore I can't see a problem. I mean Halo 3 was ridiculously colourful and my most common thought about it's graphical style was "wow, my retinas might actually be imploding right now." I rather enjoy Halo 3 as well btw.
  • Tasty_Pasta - November 14, 2008 3:13 a.m.

    The graphics looks better than awe striking. I'll definitely be picking this up in February. If only they let me into the beta....
  • Ginja ninge - November 14, 2008 1:35 a.m.

    Hope your not a "synister" plant there....Sounds good...remember reading some one saying the reason the cover system was not in multiplayer was it "didnt get used" but i thought that was a pretty crap excuse...the RPG in COD:4 wasnt something I particularly "used" alot but glad it was there. Sounds good and I look forward to it, but no matter how big the planet is...it does look pretty grey, might add atmosphere>? no??
  • Synster - November 14, 2008 12:34 a.m.

    Ah, I remember the days when Online play used to be played solely for Fun, and not just to rank up, achieve everything, and stop playing. Ah well. This suffices enough for my 60. And even if they are reviewing this in a sense, no one can really say the entire game is a "Grey" palette, seeing as how there's probably 8 or so other levels. And last I checked, Planets are big.
  • NAW13 - January 11, 2009 12:02 a.m.

    hmm i wish they released beta for everyone to play. If i get 1 game next year it will be Killzone 2.
  • RandyChimp - December 24, 2008 2 p.m.

    I'm looking forward to this like a crack monkey looking forward to... well, getting some crack. My point being, I loved the first one, if slightly iffy now, but it was playable back in the day. I hope this is a major revamp to fit the PS3's controls, because I tried playing the original on my PS3 the other day, and just couldn't get into it. This looks amazing though, and I can't wait for the multiplayer.

Showing 1-13 of 13 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.