Skip to main content

Destiny 2 Season Pass: Season of the Undying price, rewards, and how to level up

(Image credit: Bungie)

With the release of Destiny 2: Shadowkeep, Bungie's introducing a Battle Pass-inspired seasonal reward system called the Destiny 2 Season Pass. In addition to unlocking season-specific content and activities, this optional purchase will award players with gear, materials, and cosmetics as they earn XP and increase their rank (from one to 100) throughout the season. If you've purchased Battle Passes in games like Fortnite and Apex Legends, much of the Destiny 2 Season Pass will feel familiar. That said, it does make some notable changes to the formula, and it's got some particulars of its own, so we've rounded up everything you need to know.  

Destiny 2 Season Pass price 

Each Season Pass will cost $10. However, the Season Pass for season eight, which kicks off in Shadowkeep, is included with Shadowkeep. So if you buy the expansion, you won't need to buy the Season Pass separately. This is presumably Bungie's way of introducing players to the new system before directly asking them to buy into it. 

Once season eight ends, you'll need to pay $10 each season to access the new rewards and activities. Fortunately, like all future Destiny 2 expansions, Season Passes will be available a la carte on a standalone basis. This means that if you don't like what season nine has to offer or you just aren't playing at the time, you can skip it and still buy the season 10 pass later on. 

In addition to the Season Pass itself, Bungie says it will also allow players to purchase ranks as a catch-up mechanic that would become available in the final two to four weeks of the season. The pricing for buying ranks has not been announced, but Destiny 2 director Luke Smith did explain Bungie's approach to the idea. 

"In the same way that we’ve been doing seasonal catch-up for Power, we think providing a late-in-the-season rank catch-up makes sense," Smith said in a blog post. "This initial version is our starting point, and the way we’ve designed Seasons moving forward means that we’re going to be able to have the flexibility to tune how this works once we see how Season of the Undying goes."

"Our goal in tuning this is for our most committed Destiny players, who start on week 1, to reach Rank 100 simply by doing the things they already love spending their time on," Smith added. "If that’s not happening, we have the freedom and ability to adjust. We want Destiny to be your home however you want to play and hit 100. You may never want or need to buy a rank. We just want our community to be able to play together as easily as possible and narratively be part of the Destiny world as it changes."  

(Image credit: Bungie)

What do you get with the Destiny 2 Season Pass for the Season of the Undying? 

Again, purchasing a Season Pass will unlock all the new content and activities in that season in addition to the rank rewards. The rewards from the rank system are a bonus, not a separate purchase. It's also worth remembering that there will be some free content available in every season. With that in mind, let's go over everything that the Destiny 2 Season Pass for season eight, the Season of the Undying, unlocks. 

New activities 

First, let's look at the broad strokes - the content and activities that come with the Season Pass for the Season of the Undying. Remember that Shadowkeep is where you'll find new missions, Strikes, PvP maps, the new raid and dungeon, and content like that. This is just the stuff that will roll out throughout the season. 

  • The Vex Offensive, a new activity with daily and weekly bounties and rewards. This activity is Season Pass-exclusive. 
  • The Leviathan's Breath Exotic bow. This Exotic quest is Season Pass-exclusive.

Rank 1-100 rewards 

Next is the rank rewards. Kudos to Reddit user PlainBen for compiling this image showing all the rank rewards displayed on the official Season of the Undying page

(Image credit: Reddit)

There are 100 ranks and each rank has a premium reward - that's the stuff you get if you own the Season Pass. Some ranks also come with free rewards for players who don't own the Season Pass. These are indicated in the top-right corner of each cell of the image above. At rank three, for example, Season Pass owners will receive a new seasonal badge and a bundle of Glimmer, while players who don't own the Season Pass will just get the Glimmer. At rank 100, Season Pass owners will receive an Exotic ornament for Erianna's Vow and a Bright Engram, while players who don't own the Season Pass will only get the Engram. You get the idea. 

The rewards in the image above are not necessarily final, and a lot of them are new items and gear, so we can't say for sure what they are or what they do. We'll update this guide with a rank-by-rank list showing exactly what rewards you get at each rank with the Season Pass once it's available. For now, here's a general round-up of the kinds of rewards you'll get for increasing your rank:

  • Legendary Vex armor and weapons 
  • Upgrade materials including Legendary Shards, Glimmer, Enhancement Prisms and Cores, Upgrade Modules, planetary materials, and Ascendant Shards
  • Legendary, Exotic, and Bright Engrams 
  • Raid Banners
  • Shaders, ships, emotes, and emblems 
  • Badges which upgrade as your rank rises 
  • Exotic ornaments 
  • Finisher moves 

Free rewards for all players 

In addition to the free rewards in the image above, here are some other examples of what players who don't own the Season Pass can expect to receive in season eight. 

  • The Eriana's Vow Exotic hand cannon. This Exotic will unlock at rank one for Season Pass owners, and at rank 35 for players who don't own the Season Pass. 
  • Legendary Vex armor. Season Pass owners will receive three sets of armor (one for each class) at rank one, while players who don't own the pass will be able to earn one full set by rank 25. This armor will also drop from the Vex Offensive, so only Season Pass owners will be able to grind more and better sets with the rolls they want. 

(Image credit: Bungie)

How do you level up and claim rewards? 

Unlike Battle Passes in other games which often require specific challenges in order to increase your rank, the Destiny 2 Season Pass is driven purely by XP. Anything that earns you XP, from completing Strikes and Public Events to turning in bounties - basically just playing the dang video game - will advance your seasonal rank. Smith offered an example of what leveling looks like in his earlier blog post: 

"I see you: 'Did Bungie just raise the XP needed to get a rank to some ridiculous level so that players have to buy ranks at the end of the season?' The answer to that question is NO," he said. "For example, in our internal team tests, playing Strikes in a fairly relaxed manner (18 minutes per Strike play time) with full stacks of bounties can get a Seasonal Rank in less than one hour. Every week, Guardians also get rest XP bonuses (per account), where their first three ranks are at triple XP. Playing Strikes with full stacks of bounties and rest XP should get 10 ranks in around 8 hours. And knowing you, we’ll all see even better ways you’ll min-max your time to clear your ranks."

Strikes may well prove to be a good source of XP, but I can't stress enough that you can do literally anything. Gambit, Patrols, Crucible, raids, daily missions - anything that gives XP, which is basically everything in the game. Players will surely min-max the XP grind and work out the most efficient activities to repeat, but the point is, as long as you're playing Destiny 2, you'll be advancing your Season Pass.