Skip to main content

New D&D book Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos basically brings Hogwarts to Dungeons & Dragons

New D&D book Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos basically brings Hogwarts to Dungeons & Dragons
(Image credit: Wizards of the Coast)

Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos is the next Dungeons & Dragons setting, and it allows players to explore magical universities from the Magic: The Gathering card game. Due for a November 16 launch, the book is available to pre-order now at Amazon.

Focusing on a world of rival colleges with different approaches to magic, Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos will allow you to choose between the archaeologist adventurers of Lorehold, the artistic Prismari, the math-based Quandrix, the wordsmiths of Silverquill, and the druidic Witherbloom. According to the Amazon listing, it also features "new character options, monsters, mechanics, story hooks, and more." That means you'll be able to explore wizarding school within the official Plane of Strixhaven or tweak it for use in a homemade setting.

You can get an early glimpse of it right now, too. An Unearthed Arcana blog post with playtest material has just been launched on the official Dungeons & Dragons website, and it includes numerous subclasses that allow you to summon spirit companions or manipulate fate by "iterating on the mathematical patterns of reality." Take a look if you want a better idea of what's to come during Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos.

As the second D&D product announced in as many days (The Wild Beyond the Witchlight was revealed earlier as part of the 'Week of Legend Lore'), it's been a busy time for fans of Dungeons & Dragons. Happily, more is on the way - further info has been promised for D&D Live this July 16 - 17.

Want something to keep you busy while you wait? Don't miss our guide to the best Dungeons and Dragons books overall.

Pre-order Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos

Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos | $49.95 at Amazon US
You'll be able to choose your own magical school with Strixhaven: A Curriculum of Chaos, and the book launches this November 16 with new subclasses to try out, monsters to fight, and locations to uncover. View Deal

More Dungeons & Dragons

Dungeons & Dragons

(Image credit: Wizards of the Coast)

If you want more D&D, be sure to take a look at our guides below. They'll run you through the basics, including how to find a game and ways to play online. You can also check out our Dungeons and Dragons Starter Set review if you want an introduction to one of the best tabletop RPGs around.

As one of the site's Hardware Editors, you'll find my grubby paws on everything from board game reviews to Lego buying guides. I've been writing about games in one form or another for almost a decade (with bylines ranging from Metro.co.uk and PC Gamer to TechRadar), and have worked at GamesRadar+ since 2018. I can normally be found cackling over some evil plan I've cooked up for my group's next Dungeons & Dragons campaign.