Sega and Persona developer Atlus will unveil a new RPG at Tokyo Game Show

Persona
(Image credit: Atlus)

Sega will announce a brand new RPG at the Tokyo Game Show next month.

Over the last day, the Tokyo Game Show's Japanese website (opens in new tab) has been updated with a slate of brand new information. Contained within the showcase itself, on October 1, is a joint presentation between developers Sega and Atlus, during which the former will unveil a brand new RPG.

Right now though, there's no indication as to what this new RPG could potentially be. With Atlus involved, one's mind naturally jumps to Persona 6, which Atlus has already confirmed to be in development (and possibly even targeting a global simultaneous launch), but the wording of the Tokyo Game Show schedule implies that it's Sega that will be unveiling the new RPG, and not Atlus.

It could very well be a brand new entry in the ongoing Sakura Wars series. The Sakura Wars franchise just celebrated its 25th anniversary earlier this year in 2021, and a soft reboot for the franchise launched around the world back in mid-2020, garnering generally favorable reviews. One could easily imagine Sega unveiling a new Sakura Wars game to tie in with the 25th anniversary celebrations.

We'll just have to wait and see for what Sega and Atlus have planned for the Tokyo Game Show next month. The broadcast from the two developers is slated to take place on October 1, and will kick off at approximately 10 p.m. in Tokyo, which translates to 6AM PT/9AM ET/2PM BST.

For now, you can check out our guide on the best Persona games, where we rank every game in the longstanding series from worst to best.

Hirun Cryer

Hirun Cryer is a freelance reporter and writer with Gamesradar+ based out of U.K. After earning a degree in American History specializing in journalism, cinema, literature, and history, he stepped into the games writing world, with a focus on shooters, indie games, and RPGs, and has since been the recipient of the MCV 30 Under 30 award for 2021. In his spare time he freelances with other outlets around the industry, practices Japanese, and enjoys contemporary manga and anime.