Pokemon history made at Pokemon World Championships 2011

Defying all odds, Ray Rizzo has made Pokemon history as the first-ever two-time World Champion in the Pokemon World Championships this weekend. Rizzo wasn't the only one who took top honors for the USA either - among the 27 countries participating, players from the US took first place in all three age divisions. Let's take a look at the winning teams...

Above: Ray Rizzocelebrates his victory

Champion: Brian Hough

Mienshao, Terrakion, Hydreigon, Musharna, Amoonguss and Thundurus

Runner up: Ian McLaughlin
Whimsicott, Terrakion, Chandelure, Zoroark, Amoonguss, Jellicent

Champion: Kamran Jahadi

Jellicent, Chandelure, Amoonguss, Terrakion, Thundurus and Tornadus

Runner up: Sejun Park
Amoonguss, Thundurus, Tornadus, Chandelure, Scrafty, Conkeldurr

Champion: Ray Rizzo

Gothitelle, Hydreigon, Thundurus, Escavelier, Terrakion, Conkeldurr

Runner up: Matteo Gini
Thundurus, Tornadus, Eelektross, Scrafty, Haxorus, Krookodile

Says J.C. Smith, director of Consumer Marketing for The Pokémon Company International: “It’s been an incredible weekend, and we couldn’t be happier to congratulate this year’s World Champions for their dedication, their unbelievable talent, and most importantly, their sportsmanship during the entire Play! Pokémon season.”

Agreed! Congratulations to the winners, and to everyone who competed this year. It's never too early to start preparing your team for next year...

Aug 15, 2011

Life is nature's way of keeping meat fresh.