Google+

49 comments

  • ObliqueZombie - November 20, 2013 2:33 p.m.

    I wonder how many times Larry Herb had to record that vine to make the voice commands work. All in all, I'm not impressed. I like the new UI--that's a HELL of an improvement from the 360's newest one--but the fact that both systems have these awesome ideas that aren't ready yet are quite frankly stupid. I know the companies wanted to release these in time for Christmas, but Christ, how are you gonna sell them if all the cool shit isn't turned on yet? Fanbases, I guess. I would like to see how the games actually are, though. BF4 and Ghosts don't count, and I've heard good things about DR3. But what about the other exclusives?
  • db1331 - November 20, 2013 1:59 p.m.

    So, how many Doritos out of how many Mtn Dews would you give it?
  • talleyXIV - November 20, 2013 12:06 p.m.

    Everything being an app and the controller changes are really going to be bothersome if they are exactly how you said. A good controller is really an underrated part of any console.
  • egyptbc - November 20, 2013 9:20 a.m.

    What gives with telling people they should not buy the Xbox one yet while at the same time your games radar sites ps4 review states that people should unequivocally run out and by a ps4 even though their games line up is not any better than the Xbox One. Your site should not have approved that line for your article. It is absolutely ridiculous for games radar to ding the Xbox One for an issue which is from many accounts even worse on the PS4 and then to tell people that they should run out and buy a PS4 but not an Xbox One. Shameful journalism.
  • Timstertimster - November 20, 2013 10:08 a.m.

    Maybe it's because 1) "the UI isn't as easy to use as the PS4" and 2) DDR5 RAM is more future-proof and 3) voice commands are a silly gimmick that apparently doesn't work. Although... why should anyone go and buy a product that has a 1% chance of being DOA, right?
  • awesomesauce - November 20, 2013 2:59 p.m.

    They must see flaws in the Xbox1 that they didn't in the PS4. They're giving their honest opinion to help us, not trying to provide equality in their review in order to not unbalance the console market.
  • Joedirt1105 - November 20, 2013 8:11 a.m.

    You had to say "Xbox, turn on" five times because the command isn't "Xbox turn on". It's "Xbox, on". Learn how to use it first before you criticize it.
  • awesomesauce - November 20, 2013 3:02 p.m.

    maybe that's the problem. It shouldn't be a chore to get the thing to turn on because he added "turn-on" (which would be grammarly better)
  • Eightboll812 - November 20, 2013 3:49 p.m.

    This is where the hardcore MS fanboy can't see past the end of his/her own nose. They are willing to invest the time into getting it right, whether that be reading websites, the user manual, trolling through MS's support site, just to figure out how to get every ounce out of the voice commands. Most normal people try it out in the way they think it should work (i.e. "Xbox, turn on"), see it fail repeatedly, give up, and grab the remote. And the fact that GR staff, being hard core gamers themselves, can't stumble on the proper syntax, shows this isn't the intuitive product we were promised by MS. But the fanboy, instead of being critical of MS that this isn't nearly as user friendly as it should be, nooooo, it's "hey idiot, you didn't RTFM." Which deserves a double facepalm.
  • Ensoul - November 20, 2013 5:14 a.m.

    "Also, whereas the Xbox 360's bumpers could be depressed at any angle, the Xbox One's has spots that you actually can't push in. These spots include the sides and the apex of the button." I don't understand. If I can't press on top of the button, nor the side where can I press for it to register? On another note, it 's not really super encouraging for everyone to say how the current systems (360, PS3) have had the longest cycle in recent memory; and then the new ones come along with all these promises of greatness which will only happen down the line. 6 years these current consoles lasted and their new replacements still feel rushed.
  • Divine Paladin - November 20, 2013 12:25 p.m.

    I mean, to me pretty much every console has felt rushed at launch. Maybe not the really old stuff harkening back to what Nintendon't do, but the most complete launch in recent memory was the Wii, and that's only because it didn't focus on anything "next-gen" at the time and just did its own thing. (Even then the launch games were just as lacking as any other console.) I mean a lot of features got delayed on both, but honestly upon being announced for [X] release date, I expected it to hit the respective marketplaces at [X plus a few months]. The promises are what lure people in; can't knock 'em for doing business. Well, maybe you can if they promise a hastily-planned, inconsistently-explained shitfest with more sports than innovation, but I'll give MS a lot of credit for backtracking effectively (even if I can't trust the Bone until 2015 because of how quickly they flipped the switch).
  • Xtra_Tasty - November 20, 2013 1:21 a.m.

    when i get it Imma name it Neo.. cause its the One.
  • HipsterKitten - November 20, 2013 1:05 a.m.

    One of the positives is a good selection of games at launch, yet one should wait to buy it til there are more games... And in the PS4 review it says I should get one even though a negative in it's review is that it doesn't have great games... Riiiiiiiiiiiiiiight.
  • BladedFalcon - November 20, 2013 12:34 a.m.

    Wow, Kinect 2.0 not really working as promised? who didn't see that one coming! Looks like the console itself is pretty solid, but yeah, despite a weak attempt to try and make it sound cool, I still see no true justification as to why the Kinect is obligatory and a ramp up to the price. Just as the first Kinect, it's nothing more than a gimmick and novelty item that no one will care about in a couple of years. And yet it will divert attention and resources from developers who will try, just like with the wii and the first kinect, lazy, unimaginative ways to use the thing, and only wasting more of everyone's time. Motion controls are seriously fucking slowing down gaming's potential in it's current state. Until developers actually get inspired ideas to use the technology in really inventive ways that can do things current controls can't, (like say, Dance central, which so far is the only true legitimate use of a kinect for gaming up until now.) instead of shoehorning existing gaming elements into it, we're simply better off just ignoring the technology altogether, until there's a real purpose behind it.
  • Pantera8623 - November 20, 2013 12:05 p.m.

    The issue with that is that if no one owns a kinect, developers cannot and will not spend time and money developing better games and features for it and in return no one wants to buy it if theres nothing to do on it. Its a viscous cycle that never ends. That is why they are forcing you to have one with every xbox, if everyone has one, developers have incentive to create things that work better with it. And the Kinect has great potential that they want to tap into. Voice command is the future, theres no doubt about that.
  • BladedFalcon - November 20, 2013 2:35 p.m.

    The wii made motion control obligatory... and they didn't do anything worthwhile with it. Also, if developers truly had a good idea of what to do with the kinect, don't you think we would have heard about far more Kinect-based games by now? Specially since well, right now is when they WANT to prove people that kinect is worth it.
  • MeanwhileGuy - November 20, 2013 12:26 a.m.

    "Not just yet." I'm going to interpret that as, oh, say about 3 or 4 years. I'll give Microsoft that time to prove they actually think the consumer matters, because as far as I'm concerned, their massive flip-flopping and backpedalling when it came to the invasive DRM and used game issues showed how they just care about profits. My 360 is still serving me fine (still need to pick up Halo 4 to be honest), and it has far better variety than the Xbox One at the minute. Forza? Got Forza 4. Dead Rising? Bought 2, it was awful. Ryse? A mediocre, re-purposed Kinect title. I'm still sticking with the PS4, and speaking of which, to me the 8th generation is only officially here when the PS4 has finished its global roll-out, ending with Japan in early 2014.
  • Shigeruken - November 20, 2013 12:23 a.m.

    I hate the windows 8 aesthetic and ui, and I hate having to use apps for everything. I hope there's an update one day to patch the user interface into something that doesn't infuriate me, but as I live in New Zealand I've never really bothered to use my 360 for anything other than playing games. As long as I can hit a to start whatever's in my disc drive, I'll ignore the rest.
  • Fox_Mulder - November 19, 2013 11:33 p.m.

    I laughed so hard at the "Xbox mute" part, reading out loud. Coop, you perfectly typed that whole thing, and it's exactly how I could see myself saying it. The app system seems really annoying, but by the same token instant resume and snapping windows really appeals to me, that and DR3. I'm enjoying my PS4, with the exception of BF4 crashing constantly (as it does on PC, thanks to EA) and the cheap as hell headset (though it is much better with continued use). I will get an Xbox One, eventually, but for now I'll do my main gaming on PS4, and all of my whimsical Nintendo gaming on Wii U. Nonetheless, the One looks like a good console in it's own right, interested to play it at a friends.
  • shawksta - November 19, 2013 11:25 p.m.

    Not yet? Says you

Showing 21-40 of 49 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.