Google+

Topics

deals

59 comments

  • freeden - November 18, 2013 3:17 p.m.

    Within those dozen games worth owning are the Nth version of Mario, Zelda, and whatever other property Nintendo keeps milking to keep themselves going. It sure is easy to keep yourself going when you have millions of fans who will happily eat up the latest Zelda game. I had hoped that WiiU would bring in new, interesting, more serious titles, but it's continuing the same trend that the Wii started, with it's trying to appeal to everyone but actual gamers (besides those N faithful). And this is why Nintendo will once again trailer behind Sony and Microsoft in the home console department. Amazing that, in a year, Nintendo has ONLY put out a dozen games "worth playing".
  • TokenGamesRadarFurry - November 18, 2013 3:51 p.m.

    Can you name any developer that has developed 12 games in one year worth playing?
  • BladedFalcon - November 18, 2013 5:51 p.m.

    He phrased his statement very poorly, because when he said Nintendo releasing those quantities of games, he isn't really talking about a single developer, because Nintendo published games aren't made by a single developer, but by several. And even then, Nintendo taken as a whole never works fast enough to make 12 games a year, much less 12 that are all worth playing. half a dozen MAYBE, but never a full dozen.
  • Vonter - November 18, 2013 5:57 p.m.

    To be fair almost all of the most hyped videogames of this year are shooters. Just pointing that out.
  • talleyXIV - November 20, 2013 12:25 p.m.

    People that complain that Nintendo is making the same game over and over again obviously have never play the new Mario and Zelda games. Is there a ton of evolution? Absolutely not, but why should there be when every single one is ridiculously fun and quality? I'm sure you enjoy Battlefield and Call of Duty and Gears of War or Assassin's Creed, do these all not do the same exact thing every single year?
  • freeden - November 20, 2013 1:54 p.m.

    I actually don't play Battlefield, CoD, OR Gears. And I only play AC when the story seems interesting to me. Of all the AC games I've played, it's only been the core games, and I've skipped Black Flag, though I will likely pick it up when it becomes cheaper. I don't mind if a game doesn't make leaps an bounds to improve, but when the game is as trivial as most Mario or Zelda games are, I can't be bothered. When I pick up a game that is pure gameplay fun, I usually don't spend more than $20 because anything more simply isn't worthwhile. If there is no exciting narrative or distinction in the game, then it's simply not worth paying a full game price for. Every new iteration of the Mario franchise is simply a variation on the same formula that the franchise has constantly carried, minus any sort of core narrative that is radically different. Zelda can sometimes be an exception, but it rarely is. While the narratives do change, the narratives in Zelda are often such a minor part of the game that the game itself simply becomes about playing it as opposed to playing through a solid story. And none of this takes into account the complete lack of character development most of these Nintendo characters have had. Compare these games to, say, AC or Uncharted, which, even at it's worst, at the very least has well rounded characters with deep narratives. Not only are these games fun to play, but their characters are well developed and deep. They may take essentially the same gameplay formula, but the narratives and set pieces are often consequential to the story and contain more serious sequences of gameplay. Now mind you, I do put value in Nintendo's handheld. They are still leading in that area. Although I have yet to pick up a 3DS (though I would prefer a 2DS), I have had pretty much every iteration of N's handheld systems. But to me that's ok. Games for their handhelds often are about $30-40 and the fact that you can take it on the go for moments of play make it worthwhile. But if I have a home console that I want to play games on, I don't want to pay $60 for a game that provides a superfluous experience of fun, nostalgic experiences, which is often what Nintendo provides. I want deep narratives with well developed characters and gameplay that I can take as more serious than just a slight variation on something I played in the 80's and early 90's. For further examples of how Nintendo has fallen by the way side, you need only look back as far as the Gamecube. That system had RE4 and Eternal Darkness, two of the best games put out on a Nintendo system in years. Both were dynamic from anything else Nintendo had on the system and both were excellent. Nintendo has abandoned this sort of publishing and developing in favor of family friendly games and the Nth iteration of their flagship franchises. They need to go back to making these sorts of fresh games that can really attract attention, instead of simply rehashing franchise material that they give us year after year.
  • rcarrasco121 - November 18, 2013 3:01 p.m.

    Everyone who I've spoken with that's wants a Wii U have all come to the same conclusion: they'll get a Wii U but are also getting either a ps4 or Xbone.
  • Grandaddy - December 2, 2012 3:01 p.m.

    I really like the WiiU new controller, and even though I owe both PS3 and Xbox, graphics is not what appeals to me the most but the possibility of enhanced gameplay that the new Ninty can offer. Being a lazy git I do not cherish the Kinect idea when all I want to do is slouch on the sofa so this new controller seems a pretty good idea, maybe I would have had touch screen at the back like the PS Vita but I am being picky. Still there's not yet a killer game to make purchase compulsory but I will keep an eye on this system for a next year purchase.
  • Aceremi - November 24, 2012 12:22 p.m.

    Tjey actually have it wrong it is not a 4gb or so update more like 1.2 gb http://aussie-gamer.com/news/wii-u-day-one-update-is-only-1gb-can-be-downloaded-in-background/#/vanilla/discussion/embed/?vanilla_discussion_id=0 what that journalist said was false on his twitter account
  • adrianc1982 - November 21, 2012 8:44 p.m.

    okay people here goes my opinion, first, I dont own a wii u. I have been following all the articles of several websites and reading all about next generation consoles as most of you have. Seriously, you are buying a console just for mario and zombie u which didnt get a great review and its graphics are 2010 at best. Why on earth if you have a ps3 or an xbox or BOTH or even a ps3, xbox, and wii would you be buying this console right now? Im picking all these games for 20 bucks on my ps3, im making a huge catalog because I like collecting my favourite games from this generation and I can pick up almost all the games the wii u has to offer right now. Also get this you are buying a console that looks like the one thats already plugged to your tv. The games have just some little gimmicks but you are paying twice for the games you can get on the current generation. Why not spend the same money on a lot of games you want and wait until the next generation settles in 1, 2 or 3 years and play the hell out of the incredibly huge library we have for the ps3, xbox and wii(if you are into the marios and what not). The wii u is coming with not so great background, its the succesor to the wii that most of use hardcore gamers had collecting dust in the closet. What won this generation? Steam, ps3 and xbox thats what we played the most, so why not wait for the next interation of xbox or playstation or build a great gaming library for your pc, steam just started the thanksgiving sale and in a month the xmas sale, where you get games for 2.49 and 4.99 that ARE CURRENT GEN. Just my thoughts, maybe to some i will sound like a trolling but im not sold with the wii u just yet.
  • NBgmr - November 24, 2012 7:27 a.m.

    Well written and respectful opinion and thoughts. Doesn't sound like trolling at all. I picked the Wii U and am having fun both with core and casual games and that's what matters; but I didn't own the release games on other consoles.
  • Effinae - November 18, 2013 5:21 p.m.

    If you have all those systems then yeah, you might not be interested in a Wii U. Complaining about the graphics not being good enough got old a year ago. And generalizing everything as just being gimmicky makes it seem like you're just following along with what the internet says. Otherwise, I can kind of agree with you. I think the Wii U library is horribly lacking just like everyone else. Oh and I would bet any kind of money you are not going to find CURRENT GEN GAMES for under $5 this holiday season....
  • shawksta - November 21, 2012 7:32 p.m.

    "You'll hate: That nothing takes full advantage of the system's power (yet)" Well duh, NEVER has a new console did its best job at launch. Great review, really nails the positives and negatives. The fact that the Wii U got almost perfect ports means its in high hopes for 3rd Party, now we just need devs to Fully utilize the Wii U's true potential. The Wii U's launch game is one of the better, and if your gonna complain about graphics, remember Call of duty 2 was a 360 Launch title, compare that game to now, its ugly plain and simple. The fact that the Wii U is on par to the 360 and PS3 at launch shows its off to a great start. Goddamn gamestops, hurry up and call me for my backorder!
  • garnsr - November 22, 2012 8:37 p.m.

    The fact that the system's only supposed to be a little more powerful than current consoles, and the ported games are from systems that have been improving for seven years means to me that the launch titles might be near the full advantage of the system. The fact that the Wii U is only on par with seven year old systems seems a little alarming to me.
  • shawksta - November 22, 2012 9:54 p.m.

    What do you expect? For the games to look crappier to mean its not used to its full potential? Really now. But I see where your coming from, patience, baby years are always filled with worries
  • LKJHGFDSA - November 24, 2012 7:16 p.m.

    Patience? They've had years already. Atleast give us a tech demo or some impressive preview footage.
  • shawksta - November 25, 2012 4:46 p.m.

    "tech demo or some impressive preview footage." 2011 Zelda said hi http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=27Lf4uVuE50
  • FireIceEarth - November 29, 2012 12:16 p.m.

    That was just them trying to demo a HD Zelda to get people excited, they never said that was the same hardware, personally I think that was running on something a bit more souped up.
  • shawksta - November 29, 2012 9:01 p.m.

    They never said the Gamecube Tech demo was the same hardware and yet it was amazing and the Wind Waker became BETTER than it. The important factor in that Tech demo, is that it was INTERACTIVE and not just a simple tech demo, you were able to view different angles and change the lighting

Showing 21-40 of 59 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.