Google+

The 3rd Birthday review

Solid
Back to Article

29 comments

  • RebornKusabi - March 26, 2011 3:14 a.m.

    I'm gonna be honest Carolyn... I was vastly looking forward to this one because I loved the first two and didn't mind the sexualization Aya Brea took in Parasite Eve 2 since God knows there is SO MANY games out there that just as much over-sexualized male characters over the course of the series (Leon and Chris from Resident Evil are both prime examples of this). Because in the end, Aya Brea still stayed a grounded, if fetishized, human being (like most women in the real world end up becoming) and her plight still leveled with me, personally. With that said, what it sounds like they did to Aya in this one is EXACTLY why Metroid: Other M will forever be one of the only Metroid games I will never play. It sounds like they turned her into a subservient sexual object like Samus and even as a male gamer who does indeed like Samus and Aya for their sexiness, I also like them for their strong-will and independance in the face of adversity, not their tits and ass. Not to mention what the f**k they did to Maeda since he was such a sympathetic side-character to me. Lolicon fetish, REALLY?!?! So yeah, I'll be passing on this because I'm sick of women in video games not being able to be sexy and attractive while being independent and strong-willed. Thanks for the review in advance Carolyn.
  • soulreapermarco - March 26, 2011 3:09 a.m.

    Was really looking forward to the new storyline too. I like Aya and wouldn't mind seeing her in some skimpy outfit but there's fan art for that and if you're going to make a main part of the game that's just sad. So from what I've read they even ruined her personality? R.I.P Aya Brea!
  • phoenix_wings - March 26, 2011 2:54 a.m.

    This is UMD exclusive too, isn't it? I have a psp go as it's more portable than the standard psp. That's upsetting. Sometimes you really have to wonder if Sony and Co. know why their games are pirated. I know SE had a hand in it too, but still...
  • FauxFurry - March 26, 2011 2:38 a.m.

    More than Aya pulling a move that would make Chuck proud dressing in costumes of questionable protective value in a horror-themed game (without the ability to wield sex toys or makeshift implements of doom as weapons, either, I'd bet. Such sexism.)though they could leave the clothing damage in Dragon Ball Z games for a spell (and time-travel to Chrono Trigger), I object most to this long awaited follow-up being a PSP exclusive. The Parasite Eve on my PS3's harddrive is looking pretty lonely without the other members of the family to keep it company. I'm so thoroughly offended that I don't know if I'll ever buy another product from the Square end of Square-Enix ever again. It won't have any bearing on my spending habits related to Dragon Quest games or any Star Ocean titles or what-have-you, but I think that they'll get the point one way or another.!
  • MkLangley - March 26, 2011 1:57 a.m.

    Btw, i don't agree with the whole "objectifying" plight that seems some reviewers have with this game. There is nothing that proofs or supports the theses that a girl who shows more skin (which in this case is well implemented... you know, clothes do get ripped apart) ha less character of is demeaning in any way. I remember in the first PE she appeared in an official artwork with her pants unbuttoned and she was pulling her shirt up. Thats was suggestive. But anyway. Im still a heavy defender that psp games should have pre-rendered backgrounds, or at least a hybrid to make scenarios less bland, and a fixed camera, to solve the problems of the lack of dual nubs. Something developers keep forgetting, the psp is not a ps3. Good review btw.
  • MkLangley - March 26, 2011 1:40 a.m.

    Im happy as it is for a spin off. Im getting the japanese version cause the dubs in this game are just terrifying.
  • GamesRadarCarolynGudmundson - March 26, 2011 1:35 a.m.

    @oufour - hahaha. She is totally hot, I agree - but she was hotter in the first Parasite Eve IMHO. I wish Square would have allowed her to remain hot while still respecting her character.
  • oufour - March 26, 2011 1:27 a.m.

    Really wish I had read the review before writing that.
  • oufour - March 26, 2011 1:21 a.m.

    Aya's hot. That's reason enough for me!

Showing 21-29 of 29 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PSP
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Square Enix
Developed by: Square Enix, HexaDrive
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.