Google+

The 3rd Birthday review

Solid
Back to Article

29 comments

  • Bluefox - April 17, 2011 12:47 p.m.

    Regarding Aya Brea, it sounds like an unfortunate development. But I haven't played the previous PE games so I don't know much about her. What I DO know, is that this is a shooter where your enemies are monsters! I've been waiting for a game like that to hit the psp, most of the shooters now are versus other military personnel and it gets boring after a while with no story to back it up..
  • ghostlion88 - April 4, 2011 3:51 p.m.

    Well what can I say? I have no problem whatsoever with beautiful female nudity in games. It was kind of inevitable here because they probably wanted to use Aya's sexual appeal to help sell the game, and because...well, you get a bunch of male developers who sit behind computers and drawing boards for hours everyday, not seeing much of the outside world, and they're bound to start releasing repressed fantasies in some form. But I do sympathize with the reviewer here. The exposure of Aya's skin should have been more optional in consideration for some female gamers who understandably would like to play as a character with more dignity. Hang in there Carolyn, more games have got to come out eventually where they get it right. And I'm not sure this is quite the "Other M" of Parasite Eve. Maybe the story is butchered (I wouldn't know, having never played any other PE games), but the game is quite fun to play, and I would have enjoyed just as much whether Aya got naked or not-though, admittedly for me, it does make it a hundred times better.
  • Cleanser247 - March 28, 2011 5:05 p.m.

    I've been watching stuff on this game for a while now. Great review!
  • Fusionmix - March 28, 2011 11:25 a.m.

    Yeah, another game I will not be getting. Hotness or no. An incomprehensible plot and stupid main character? Yeaaaahno.
  • philipshaw - March 28, 2011 9:54 a.m.

    I was interested in this game,thought it was going to be the systems last big game but what they have done to the character sounds awful. Also those controls just sound bad,they should have went the MGS:PW route and allowed camera control with the face buttons
  • Darkhawk - March 28, 2011 5:58 a.m.

    Good review. I'm glad someone called Square out on this. The original PE is easily one of my favourite PS1 games, but this has me quite concerned. Plus: all I really want is the original combat mechanic back. (They used it in Vagrant Story, but I think that's it.)
  • ssjMrFord - March 28, 2011 3:49 a.m.

    While there was a shower scene in PEII the game didn't really mess with her character that much. She's still a strong, level headed cop (fed this time) that can handle herself. Also, if you were actually paying attention you'd see that Aya is actually wearing shorts the entire game, it makes sense as a majority of the game takes place in a freaking desert.
  • Flashinthepan - March 28, 2011 12:36 a.m.

    What I wouldn't give for a PS3 release of this game.(probably my hands, possibly internal organs.) I still haven't played the second one, because it was $45 used at the store, so I was looking forward to the third installation in P.E. Maybe I'll have to break down and buy the second game, unless a nice someone can lone me a copy. Also, Maeda is the Otican of Parasite Eve, so to hear he isn't involved anymore makes me tear up a little.
  • AngeDechu - March 27, 2011 9:41 p.m.

    Well, people, I have my issues with the game too (was a fan of the first two PE), but....there is a detail that explains rather well the character difference. (Spoilers) It's not Aya we play. It's Eve. Eve used her overdrive thing (by accident) on Aya... (Meh, for one time, story and game mechanics are not separated) shourg
  • 510BrotherPanda - March 27, 2011 5:03 a.m.

    Never played a PE game before. This over-sexualization makes this sound like the 'Other M' of 'Parasite Eve'...
  • meg127 - March 26, 2011 8:47 p.m.

    Its Square Enix what did you expect? They destroy characters and create stupid plots for fun.
  • waffman11 - March 26, 2011 7:24 p.m.

    The camera control with the D-pad wouldn't be a problem for me- as a massive fan of the Monster Hunter Freedom series, I learned to hold my left index finger around the system to hit the D-pad while moving. It's actually a fairly comfortable position once you get used to it.
  • broj5870 - March 26, 2011 5:11 p.m.

    its too bad i was deff upset to hear its only for the PSP. Im playing P.E. on my p3 right now with the guide and let me tell ya, a good game is still a good game and i LOVE Parasite Eve.
  • Cyberninja - March 26, 2011 3:24 p.m.

    the reason why the game is so different is because SE lost the rights to the Parasite Eve name and characters somehow but they managed to legally use the character Aya if they made a completely new story and had no connections to the old games.
  • MkLangley - March 26, 2011 10:16 a.m.

    @ViolentLee Its not the same at all, Samus didn't have a personality before Prime, and even in the prime games she was plain terrible. Other M was a pretty big jump in development, she exposed her past and we could gradually see how Samus grew into the bad ass she is today. It was a very conceivable and solid character. Just because some people don't enjoy exposure fragility doesn't mean its a bad thing. Kratos has to be one of the worst developed characters of the industry because of just that, he is just a plain, 1 dimensional forced bad ass.
  • paganpoet - March 26, 2011 8:07 a.m.

    @RebornKusabi Are you serious? I'll agree that Leon and Chris have both become more attractive as the series has progressed, but let's talk when one of Chris Redfield's alternate costumes is little more than a loin cloth...only then will he be as "overly sexualized" as the female characters in the series.
  • aJAWSOMEocelot - March 26, 2011 8:06 a.m.

    Made outfit upon completion? I will have to be a misogynistic bastard about this one. I am so in!
  • ViolentLee - March 26, 2011 7:48 a.m.

    What have they done to Aya? The same thing Other M did to Samus, apparently. Not cool...
  • quincytheodore - March 26, 2011 5:15 a.m.

    I can relate to the reviewer. The reason Aya is (was?) a compelling character is that she's beautiful, but still realistic. Her personality and as you've said, down-to-earth manner was unique compare to booby horde. I was excited about the realistic in-game damage because clothes do get torn apart in battle, and the char will get scrapped, that makes sense. Most RPG, let say FF XIII, has Lightning and co running as fugitive for 50 hours straight across forest, mine, town and even sewer. Without wardrobe change, make-up or even bath (I don't say they should include bath scene, but I wouldn't mind, I'm rambling...) they still look like Cocoon Next Top Model. That's unrealistic. I hoped that in-game damage will be a plus point, maybe like new Tomb Raider, not something that would actually hurt the game. And they even changed the personality of the chars, that's seriously odd. Do they think that it's to appeal to new generation or something? Is this even made by the same team, if not, did the new team just made sh*t up? At least the old team must have sent some memo, "Don't screw my characters!" Major disappointment. :(
  • ranzatsu - March 26, 2011 4:44 a.m.

    I played PE and PE 2 when I was only eight and I enjoyed it so much. You can say I've been waiting for this game for so many years, and I'm still gonna get it. I guess Aya lost her memories, since in the recent trailers, since she doesn't remember Kyle or anyone else, explaining her change in character. And besides. If you guys have noticed her artworks for the previous games, she's already been in sexy poses. And the clothes thing? Square had said that it's normal for your clothes to get torn as you receive damage, and it's not meant to be erotic. The other costumes you can put her up in are also man-targeted, but the more revealing your costume is, the lower your defense. Your speed goes higher, though. I still wish they'd give her other costumes other than a bunny girl outfit... Hope you guys don't lose your heads.

Showing 1-20 of 29 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PSP
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Square Enix
Developed by: Square Enix, HexaDrive
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.