Google+

Shadows of the Damned video: Full Access Preview

Guys. Guys. I don't want to jump the gun and make a bunch of preemptive, hyperbolic statements, but I think Shadows of the Damned is going to be one of the coolest, craziest games of the summer. We've got a preview build in the office and in just the first two acts (aka the first hour or so) there are more dick jokes, cleverly used cliches and ridiculously fun moments than any game I've played all year. Sadly, preview restrictions state we can only show you five minutes of footage, so I tried to cram as much of the opening into one video as possible...


Shadows of the Damned represents something of a Japanese dream team; it plays like an amped-up Resident Evil 4 (courtesy of Shinji Mikami) but with all the weirdness and gratuitous violence of No More Heroes (that'd be Suda 51), PLUS an amazingly catchy, atmospheric soundtrack (by Silent Hill composer Akira Yamaoka). All these traits come together to form a game that plays exactly how you think it would if all these people came together... it's pretty cool, I gotta say.

We'll have a more thorough preview up next week that details the gameplay and goings-on of the first two acts, but until then, please to enjoy our five-minute fap!

May 13, 2011

26 comments

  • mriopel - June 5, 2011 12:45 a.m.

    Hmmmm... Interesting
  • Darkhawk - May 25, 2011 9:13 p.m.

    @Robusken You're probably thinking of Codename D, Suda's Kinect Game: http://www.thesixthaxis.com/2010/11/19/first-shots-of-suda-51s-kinect-game/
  • BigBoss - May 16, 2011 9:58 a.m.

    This looks amazing.
  • LitJackson - May 15, 2011 10:30 p.m.

    I wanna FAP just like them when i grow up
  • philipshaw - May 15, 2011 4:01 p.m.

    Weird restriction but the best ending to a FAP yet
  • jackthemenace - May 15, 2011 2:35 p.m.

    OK, NOW I want it. You say it plays like a creepier Resi 4, with the humour of NMH? That's a definite buy, right there.
  • LaffPiranha - May 15, 2011 3:12 a.m.

    First and foremost: I love the rapport you guys have. I can't wait to see more of these FAPs. Second: While I know this game will be great (based upon the pedigree of its creators, alone), I kind of wish the horror was less cheesy, and more...scary. I just feel like there hasn't been a good scary game in a long while (save for Penumbra and its ilk, of course - but they're only on PC). Le sigh.
  • PimplesInYourAsstista - May 15, 2011 2 a.m.

    OH MY GAAAAAAAAAAAAWD
  • KielbasaNinja - May 14, 2011 10:16 p.m.

    I hope Paula becomes 2011's Jason. So much humor potential from this game.
  • Aforextreme - May 14, 2011 10:01 p.m.

    Paula? Paula! PAULAAAAAA!! Seriously, though. This game looks awesome. The way that the game slows down with tons of blood splatter when you score a critical hit is very reminiscent of Killer7 (makes sense, it's another Suda 51/Shinji Mikami game). It looks like if Killer7 played like Resident Evil 4, and that just screams "10/10" to me. Thanks for doing this unfortunately short FAP, guys! I've been excited about this game for a while.
  • foxyexplosion - May 14, 2011 6:24 p.m.

    Why should I buy everybody dick jokes. I suppose I could pick up a book or something...
  • gilgamesh310 - May 14, 2011 4:05 p.m.

    While I simply find it possible to imagine a game that involves Mikami, Suda and Yamaoka to be bad, the actual aiming does look like it needs some work.
  • TheElephantManchurianCandidate - May 14, 2011 3:31 p.m.

    Wow I think you might have sold me on this game
  • Yeager1122 - May 14, 2011 3:10 p.m.

    Looks pretty cool defintley on my radar now.
  • FlikNightshade - May 14, 2011 8:53 a.m.

    Amazon is offering the soundtrack for the game with the pre-order bonus'. Think I might just put this one on my list after this.
  • ichigoame - May 14, 2011 8:53 a.m.

    it's not pronounced paula it's pronounced BOLLA!!!!!!!!!!!! XD
  • NathanXplosion - May 14, 2011 5:26 a.m.

    Shinji Mikami, Suda 51, and Akira Yamaoka, nuff said I'm buying.
  • Robusken - May 14, 2011 5:05 a.m.

    "Paula? Paula?! PAAAULAAA!" Jeez this whole time I thought this was only for Kinect for some reason, it looks awesome though! June will definitely kill my wallet with all the cool stuff coming out.
  • Letter11 - May 14, 2011 3:54 a.m.

    This is coming out this summer?! Great! I thought we were going to have to wait so much longer.
  • FauxGateau - May 14, 2011 2:01 a.m.

    Wow, this game is awesome! So awesome I can't even think of a clever pun to say!

Showing 1-20 of 26 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.