Google+

We Recommend By ZergNet

67 comments

  • Robusken - May 21, 2011 4:01 a.m.

    Both seem pretty messed up in a sense.
  • pot - May 21, 2011 3:54 a.m.

    The game was horrible and these developers are immature babies. So because he writes a bad review, you bomb his book on Amazon? How immature can you get?
  • ThatGuyFromTV - May 21, 2011 3:39 a.m.

    I distinctly remember reading this review, with Joystiq being my number 2 site since they have an awesome ipod app (GR's doesnt have features or the main site on theirs- get on that). I think the review was a bit overboard, but Christ, the dev attacked his job over it? Bob Kotick and Jack Thompson may have a future competitor for biggest douche in gaming if Matt can keep this kind of shit going on a regular basis.
  • Redeater - May 21, 2011 3:37 a.m.

    This game was fucking terrible. I usually attempt to finish every game I rent but I couldn't do it with this stinker. Not even to see the sweet ending. I just used youtube.
  • grandinquisitor - May 21, 2011 3:20 a.m.

    @rancid92 I know what you mean about that cover. Thing is you kind of can judge a book by it's cover, if a publisher likes your book they'll spend more money on your cover art than they would for an inferior book.
  • rancid92 - May 21, 2011 3:13 a.m.

    Seriously, I don't see how this is a big deal. Matt obviously sent out an inner-office email joke, which is not something to condemn the man for. A few employees took it to heart and posted scathing reviews. That's hardly an attack on the reviewer's livelihood. Him making a big deal out of it only draws attention to the ordeal. And I know you shouldn't judge a book by its cover, but for Christ's sake, that cover art is a mess. You have a warrior with a red polka-dotted cape staring lustfully at a ruby while two twin ape warriors and a creepy pirate stand menacingly in the background. It weirds me out just looking at it.
  • D0CCON - May 21, 2011 3:07 a.m.

    Come on, the only people allowed to do that are gamers during a Mass Effect controversy.
  • marioman50 - May 21, 2011 3:05 a.m.

    It was a stupid move on Matt's part (frankly he shouldn't have done it), but I honestly think that Murdock is just playing the victim. Will the sales of his book honestly be THAT affected by one customer review? If the book received a majority of "good" reviews, I don't think he has much to worry about. Plus, if Matt has offended Murdock's "livelihood", then maybe Murdock needs to take a self confidence course.
  • hellodesdemona - May 21, 2011 3:03 a.m.

    A perfect example of how being a child is unrelated to chronological age.
  • grandinquisitor - May 21, 2011 2:59 a.m.

    In Matt Corso's defense at least, he did word his e-mail very politically, urging the staff to read the book first and never necessarily telling them to give it a negative review. Also, this kind of attack is hardly unprecedented, only the idea that it might be tied to a semi-official source is shocking. Also, I have a feeling that Murdock's book will sell many, many more copies because of this story than it otherwise would have.
  • HaVoK308 - May 21, 2011 2:54 a.m.

    Both acted unprofessionally. Game reviewers forget that games are made by real people. People with jobs, bills, families, ect. Being critical and honest is one but being a pretentious prick is another. Simply because a review is nothing more than an opinion...not a fact. Reviewers like to make fun of fanboys but they too tend to forget that what they write is their personal opinion. Not an absolute truth. After all...you are reviewing a video game for crying out loud and the people who created it actually have a talent. A talent most writers lack. Its grossly immature but maybe its about time some smug, arrogant writer gets a taste of their own medicine. Wonder how he feels.
  • HipsterKitten - May 21, 2011 2:45 a.m.

    It's funny, because on The Dragon Ruby's page, customers that bought the book also bought The Conduit 2. Irronnnnnnnny!
  • GayforGilbert - May 21, 2011 2:43 a.m.

    Reviewer sounds like a pompous ass, developer took things too far. It's a real bloodbath out there, Tyler.
  • GamesRadarTylerWilde - May 21, 2011 2:30 a.m.

    @PooPSock But you didn't make Scott Pilgrim. If you had, and someone gave it a harsh review, would it then be fair for you to write a negative review of that person's work without first disclosing your association with the work they criticized?
  • EnragedTortoise1 - May 21, 2011 2:27 a.m.

    @GRTylerWilde Ah. Guess I'll wait till tomorrow. :P
  • GamesRadarTylerWilde - May 21, 2011 2:27 a.m.

    @AuthorityFigure Even if you think a review is "unprofessional," is there not a difference between attaching one's full identity to a review of a product, and quietly writing negative consumer reviews as a form of retaliation?
  • p0wnd - May 21, 2011 2:25 a.m.

    Wonder what would have happened if Portal 2 got 1 bad review?
  • Blasto - May 21, 2011 2:21 a.m.

    Christ, calling that unprofessional would be an understatement. Also, Retaliating against a negative review in such an immature manner does nothing more than make the developer and game look bad and give more attention to the negative review.
  • AuthorityFigure - May 21, 2011 2:19 a.m.

    It all depends on if the original review was fair and balanced. If it wasn't, the reviewer tore up his professional license there and then, and he is then subject to the kind of criticism he carelessly laid out. Don't stick your neck out if you have too much to lose.
  • PooPSock - May 21, 2011 2:14 a.m.

    I'm sure Mr. Murdock's "livelihood" won't be utterly destroyed because his book (receiving rather sparse reviews at that(them being good, by the words above, so not being too onesided)) got a few bad reviews. Few really like Ebert(I fuckin' hate the guy), but his opinion is his own. If, however, Ebert was to attack something like, let's say, Scott Pilgrim and follow that up by plugging his book, i'd write the most scathing review imaginable. A legitimate review is something paid for, and in such a manner, a career. A peer review is not. Both are opinions in the end, but one does not carry the weight that the other has.

Showing 41-60 of 67 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.