Google+

Red Steel 2 review

Excellent
Back to Article

44 comments

  • Metroidhunter32 - March 23, 2010 10:26 p.m.

    Going to get, not anytime soon. My current priorities are massivly filled by Monster Hunter, Other M, Bioshock (PC), and finishing the completion of my gamecube games (just 2 more). So this is 6th on my list, 7th if Trauma team comes out before I get caught up.
  • GodofPS314 - March 23, 2010 10:04 p.m.

    I really like the look I have Borderlands and Red Steel one. This looks like the best sequel I can think of. Just why Ubisoft did you call it Red Steel 2? The games look like they have no relativity to each other whatsoever. One more thing, why did they take out multiplayer? That is the one thing is liked about RS1 the multiplayer with 4 friends.
  • crumbdunky - March 23, 2010 9:51 p.m.

    y2kpikachu12-it's not that he's saying there's no single player option in borderlands just that it could have done with, y'know, being more of a story than it turned out to be. That's how I read it in any case-you know, how the offline SP bits of L4D or UT3 are really just light training for the onlione meat of the multplayer/co-op that really sells those particular games and a great story/campaign would have deepened Borderlands in a few ways as, IIRC, the SP sort of starts off like it's going to be something decent but in the end just pales totally compared to what it's really there for-fighting over the best loot with your(EX!) mates online! The SP in B'lands just feels like a lot of gunfights sewn together as chances for racking up XP and loot and given those RPG lite elements to a FPS I also found it a little sad that there was little to no depth there for the SP gamer in me. F'rinstance, L4D is, to me, a bit of a con on the 360 cos of it's lack of a true SP whereas the user created mods are enough to (and the cheaper price, better res, better looks and better, smoother frame rate-which from an undemanding game and engine is a bit crappy even for a console version for a dev of Valve's rep)keep it fresh and fun on PC. I also played B'lands on console and without the ability of UT3 to import mods(on PS3 where mouse/keys is also enabled)the wafer thin SP leaves Borderlands feeling less of a value filled package. Great fun co-op, though, even if I found it short lived. I would, personally, have LOVED to have seen some kind of MP action in RS2 but that's MAINLY because the length of campaign looks a bit on the short side and when they seem to have improved wildly on their first effort AND seem the only company to have bothered with M+ outside of sports sims it's a little tight to moan. Really glad this seems to have turned out so well as I was always impressed by VDB's passion when talking the game up and felt he wouldn't compromise and a single minded approach without any flab has been something lacking in so many Wii games we've suffered over the years. Good stuff, and looking forward to it-when my wallet recovers from it's recent PS3 induced beating!I'll possibly wait for NMH2 to finally land over here in the UK before picking up both that and RS2. OH. BTW-was I being cruelly misled over Metro33 being a "budget" priced title? My US mates said it was just $40 on the 360 out there but it seems full price on 360 OR PC in the UK!
  • Felixthecat - March 23, 2010 9:38 p.m.

    @Howetzer - You don't look at many reviews for Wii games that are actually good, do you? Anyway, RS2 looks fantastic. I don't care about the Borderlands style appearance, because Borderlands' graphics were nice IMO. But it looks impressive, and I was looking forward to it a lot, then it dipped, but now this review has revitalised my excitment. It's not a release day purchase anymore, but I will definetly get it, somewhere around Summer.
  • y2kpikachu12 - March 23, 2010 9:19 p.m.

    "The look and feel is so similar that we’d dare say Steel 2 is Borderlands if it had a single-player story, something it could have really used." Are you talking about Borderlands not having a single player or RS2? Because I thought they both did.
  • BleedingHatMcGillicutty - March 23, 2010 9:07 p.m.

    buy* I need to learn to proofread...
  • BleedingHatMcGillicutty - March 23, 2010 8:30 p.m.

    Dammit Brett, why did you have to go and convince me to by motion plus.
  • GamesRadarBrettElston - March 23, 2010 8:29 p.m.

    ^ Good news! RS2 is bundled with MotionPlus. I have to admit I was very surprised at the quality of this game. The more I played and the more attacks I unlocked the better it became. It keeps getting better IMO. Not some flawless experience, mind, just very very well done on a system that has a reputation for... the opposite.
  • raygillies - March 23, 2010 8:24 p.m.

    Damn it! I want to play this, but I haven't played wii in so long that I don't have motion plus, which means I don't want to buy a new add-on to play one game. What to do?
  • garnsr - March 23, 2010 7:56 p.m.

    Gives hope that the Move will actually be able to give us good games like this with even fewer of the limitations that come with the Wii.
  • mastersword369 - March 23, 2010 7:45 p.m.

    buyin' it.
  • vigeoman - March 23, 2010 7:19 p.m.

    the game is only like 8-10 hours? egh...
  • JoeMasturbaby - March 23, 2010 7:04 p.m.

    wild west games give me a huge hard-on. i wish i had the consoles to play them all too.
  • TheWebSwinger - March 23, 2010 6:52 p.m.

    DAMN. A 9? Did not see that coming.
  • Al3xand3r - March 23, 2010 6:35 p.m.

    Red Steel 2 used this art style long before Borderlands did. If you remember Borderlands had a generic Unreal Tournament 3 style look previously. It just so happened that game released first. So, no, they didn't steal anything and people in the wristing business should know that stuff.
  • Howetzer - March 23, 2010 6:29 p.m.

    Holy crap...did I just read a reveiw for the Wii that is a 9? Wow. @TheGeek - you messed up and posted twice. I'll spare you the technical explanation, but basically, you did the same thing two times!
  • TheGeek - March 23, 2010 6:19 p.m.

    @IHateMakingUserIDs Its part of the calibration process of the Wii Motion Plus. I'll spare you the technical explanation. I've been waiting for a game like this. Sword combat with the WMP has loads of possibility, and this looks like it does it really well. Definitely gonna pick this one up.
  • TheGeek - March 23, 2010 6:18 p.m.

    @IHateMakingUserIDs Its part of the calibration process of the Wii Motion Plus. I'll spare you the technical explanation. I've been waiting for a game like this. Sword combat with the WMP has loads of possibility, and this looks like it does it really well. Definitely gonna pick this one up.
  • IHateMakingUserIDs - March 23, 2010 4:55 p.m.

    Why do you put your wii controller face down on a flat surface? Is this for something in game, or is this the proper way to place it for storage? recaptcha: Courtroom bathroom, interesting idea!
  • allthegoodnameswheretaken - March 23, 2010 4:42 p.m.

    @flabslapper Because your government sucks ass =)

Showing 21-40 of 44 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 23 2010 - Wii (US)
Mar 26 2010 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Action
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft Paris
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Animated Blood, Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.