Google+

Red Dead Redemption super review

Excellent
Back to Article

30 comments

  • christopher-gaunt - April 9, 2014 5:43 p.m.

    A slight inaccuracy with the review. You drive a wagon of TNT into the gates of El Presido in Mexico, which has the cannons. At Fort Mercer, you get in there by hiding in West-Dickens' potion wagon. There is a wagon of TNT involved but that comes at you to shoot with the Gatling gun, near the end of the misson. Jus sayin'. Great game though. The mechanics are slick and the involvement is amazing and I stop to admire the scenery sometimes - the view across the river to Mexico, south of Macfarlane's Ranch is particularly impressive. As well as looking over the river from either one of the two bridges. "Friggin brits" - yeah, well sorry but we have trouble understanding Duck Dynasty. So... pot/kettle.
  • ashley-nicole - February 6, 2014 5:38 p.m.

    They could have added a little more in the way of the shops, but overall there's plenty of stuff to keep you entertained from finding scraps for an outfit or searching for treasure.
  • ync-badazz-trill-fam - May 27, 2012 11:15 a.m.

    i love this game i wish could of made it like if you want to start how many ranches you want and how many animals you want and stuff say if you wanted 2500 head of cattle and 2500 horses and 2500 hogs and 2500 chickens and 2500 turkeys and stuff and if you could in if you could take the saddle off and put the fence up and stuff open the cattle gates all that in stuff going on your own cattle drives all over get how many acers of land and stuff hireing ranch hands and all that and can be multiplayers on campaign mode and online two it should be both and can be john wayne and stuff all that if you could have a wife and all that..........
  • Skittles - July 21, 2011 12:25 a.m.

    To me this is the best game evar i play it every day cuz it iz AWEZOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • kmdeftones - May 29, 2011 12:21 a.m.

    I just finished the game (only a year late). I have to say that I was mildly disappointed. The game was built up as the one of the top 2 games of the year, but there are some huge issues. I didn't care about any of the characters, there were no stand-out missions, and there is a lot of filler. For example, I had an attachment to Roman in GTA IV and Kaiden in Mass Effect. Very few of the characters in Red Dead are likeable. Bonnie, Landon, and Nastas were the only people with a modicum of decency and none of their stories were all that compelling. I still remember Three Leaf Clover in GTA IV. In Red Dead, I will remember the last mission because of how the story ends. However, the actual gameplay of the last mission was nothing special. While Red Dead did have some good side missions (strangers, for example), the challenges were primarily boring. Picking flowers was pretty dull as were most of the hunting missions. They only got interesting towards the end when the legendary creatures were introduced. There are other minor issues as well. I had all my money disappear on me. One minute I had over $10,000, then I had $0. There were plenty of glitchy moments (I recall seeing a lady sit on nothing with a chair on her head). Fallout: New Vegas got no end of shit for the glitches, but the story in it was far more compelling. John Marston is an idiot who is tricked throughout the game, but never seems to learn from his past mistakes. The dialogue when riding to missions is pretty terrible as well. I still think this game was one of the best of 2010, but behind Mass Effect 2, Fallout: New Vegas, and AC: Brotherhood. However, it gets a bit more credit than I think it deserves. Yes, it does look pretty. Yes, there is a lot to do (although a lot to do consists of horseshoes, arm wrestling, and gathering herbs). There are just some key components missing to make worthy of game of the year.
  • ace21 - April 12, 2011 11:58 p.m.

    NINE! you must be crazy,this is the best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • sTuCkU10x - September 20, 2010 4:27 p.m.

    Awesome game
  • T1arnan - July 23, 2010 3:41 p.m.

    I think i may get this game but quite a few people here like to complain about things like the horses or the story. Would it be worth spending £40 on it?
  • hughetan - July 23, 2010 1:29 p.m.

    it didnt get a ten because not everyone liked the online. which i completeley disagree
  • GeNeRaL - July 18, 2010 5:17 a.m.

    The game is great and on the HD tv i looks like you are there , tho , when you play it for a bit the missions start to seem the same and dont really change that much , it's always get on you horse go to the checkpoint and kill the guys , it gets old after a while. I like it how you can go out and catch a horse and break it and make it your own and also how you can cheat in poker and all that stuff thats the kind of stuff i like in a game all the little things. But it would be nice if their was like some customization things you could do , like were your guns sat on your back and your cloths and guns , but you cant have everything , all up good game .. =) GeNeRaL HiLl OuT..........................................
  • MrGeppetto - July 15, 2010 2:55 p.m.

    I've got a bit of a bone to pick with his review. Yes, I realize that a nine out of ten is phenomenal, but regardless... The horse missions are a drag? Look, clearly nobody bought the game for the prospect of racing horses through canyons and down dirt paths, but the game is about versatility, and horse racing proves it. You're living life in the wild west. Like it or not, it isn't, and shouldn't be, entirely "shoot-em-up." "The shops are pointless?" Then let me ask you this... Would you rather find yourself NEEDING to find ways to grind cash for a new seven hundred dollar gun, because enemies become increasingly more difficult to beat as the game goes on? Be thankful that the enemies aren't scaled, and that a head shot to an early-game enemy will down him just as fast as one to an end-game. And last but not least, "John can't swim." At first, this bugged me. But then it got me thinking... if they couldn't use water as a natural boundary, then how would they block off certain parts of the game? With "inconvenient" mountains? A giant fence along the Mexican border? Perhaps him not knowing how to swim is more of a blessing than a curse. I dedicate this novel to the late, great George Foreman. Men like him are in short supply.
  • polarzombie - July 10, 2010 9:36 p.m.

    I loved the story to this game I almost cried at the end. The multiplayer is so time consuming. I wish that they would come out with some singleplayer dlc.
  • elmaropwnz - June 23, 2010 9:35 p.m.

    i agree a gun would best be used for killing a bear
  • Cmccormick94 - June 21, 2010 3:40 a.m.

    John Marston may be one-dimensional, but I found him to be somewhat refreshing. He was simple yet compelling.
  • digletdude - June 9, 2010 5:20 p.m.

    "piece of piss" means easy. God i thought was easy to workout, bloody yank.
  • yonderTheGreat - June 7, 2010 5:23 p.m.

    What the god damned hell does "piece of piss" mean? Friggin brits, I swear...
  • ocdinnyc - June 6, 2010 1:34 p.m.

    Loved the game but the end.......well it kinda sucked! the pay back at the end was ok i guess but you'll see what i mean
  • pakk99 - June 2, 2010 1:12 a.m.

    The multiplayer is a ton of fun. The single player game is alright, but the story just isn't told very well, and running around an open world with little or no direction gets old after a while. And while I'm griping, what is up with the cut scenes? Who the hell animated these pieces of crap?
  • moosemayhem - May 29, 2010 8:01 p.m.

    everywhere i go this game is sold out, its driving fucking crazy
  • midway007 - May 29, 2010 10:21 a.m.

    Personally I think its 1 of the most overrated games ever. the story is boring, the earlier missions put me off herding cows to horse riding for miles is not as satisfying as driving a car through liberty city so im gonna sell it!

Showing 1-20 of 30 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: May 18 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Rockstar Games
Developed by: Rockstar San Diego
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.