Google+

Mortal Kombat review

Great
Back to Article

84 comments

  • 2cute2Bcruel - April 20, 2011 4:54 a.m.

    Those revamped backgrounds look awesome!
  • GhostbustTyler - April 20, 2011 4:29 a.m.

    Been playing this for six hours straight since I got it today and it's so much fun. The fighting is fun, the fatalities are as gross as ever, and it's hard enough that you'll want to keep retrying seemingly impossible fights instead of rage quitting. I'm also picking up Portal 2 this weekend so there goes my entire social life haha.
  • RebornKusabi - April 20, 2011 4:13 a.m.

    I'm enjoying this game a shitload right now. I will say this review seriously read like a Capcom advertisement, even if game reviewers ARE NOT PAYED OFF, but I honestly think the Capcom references should have been lessened a little bit due to the fact that they are two separate games. Comparing MvC3 and SSF4 to Mortal Kombat is like those idiots who compare Call of Duty to Halo. They're two completely separate games that are connected in the slightest sense because they're both shooters. Same applies here... Both games are fighting games but thats where the similarities end. With that said, no Brett was not payed off. He just has bias towards Capcom fighters... which is fine, but thats why I wouldn't have had you review this game. Its like comparing apples to oranges and saying apples are better even though they both satisfy some kind of urge in you. I love your reviews but this is the first time I've disagreed with you. Thats fine, it is a review after all, but maybe you weren't the right person to review the game lol Love your stuff! Please keep doing Game Music of the Day because those f*cking ROCK!!!
  • Spybreak8 - April 20, 2011 1:50 a.m.

    Ok want to say this right off the bat, I'm not planning on picking this game up since fighters isn't really my genre but I read the entire review. Nice writeup Brett, seriously nice writeup man.
  • bloodyshadow - April 20, 2011 1:49 a.m.

    Clearly someone just wanted to play Street Fighter and now review this game. Some fair points... but a LOT of really unfair ones that completely missed tha point entirely. Whatever. It happens.
  • mentalityljs - April 20, 2011 12:08 a.m.

    @ Brett Elston Um, just a thought, but maybe there should be a perma-ban on user "Scyn". What a douche!
  • mentalityljs - April 20, 2011 12:01 a.m.

    I've always been a Mortal Kombat fan over any other fighting game. Just my preference. I would have to say that this was a fairly accurate and appropriate review of the game. And despite all of it's flaws, which some are more noticable than others, I still thought NR did an excellent job at bringing the series back to life. Well done!
  • santaclouse37 - April 19, 2011 11:29 p.m.

    Fantastical review, Mr. Elston. This addressed every question I had about the game, and then some I didn't realize I even wanted to know. Based on your input, I think I'll be picking this up eventually, but not for a while (far, far too much awesome shit already emptying my wallet).
  • Yeager1122 - April 19, 2011 11:17 p.m.

    Sounds good but more of a rent or wait for price drop especially with so many good games coming out.
  • V22Dreamcast - April 19, 2011 9:08 p.m.

    An 8?! WTF?! SCREW THIS! Just kidding, it is obvious that Street Fighter has always been better than Mortal Kombat (even though I always preferred Mortal Kombat over Street Fighter), so it is nice to see that MK has improved to become a great fighting game, despite SFIV overall being better than MK. I was going to buy Mortal Kombat no matter what but it great to see MK get some nice reviews (Also, not bad for my first post).
  • KdotLo - April 19, 2011 8:30 p.m.

    Oh yeah, and great review Brett. I can always count on you for a real, in-depth review.
  • KdotLo - April 19, 2011 8:16 p.m.

    Haha! I love reading angry comments! As hardcore as you MK fanboys think you may be, MK caters more to the casual fighting game crowd. Now, don't take offense to that. I just mean that it doesn't quite have the depth and balance that games like Street Fighter have. SSFIV is great for both casual players and high level play. MVC3 is the same way. You can complain all day about infinites, death-touch combos, and spamming projectiles in Marvel, but the game has ways to get out of everything. That isn't to say that Marvel and SF are perfect. They have their own fair share of issues as well. In the end, playing and enjoying fighting games is really dependent on who you play it with and how willing you are to learn the ins and outs of the game engine. You can enjoy your fighting games in your own hardcore way. :)
  • insertdisk - April 19, 2011 8:04 p.m.

    God Elston. Since Marvel and Capcom paid you off why not give it a, (dramatic pause) 7!!!!!!!1! Seriously nice review informative and well reasoned as I would expect.
  • BigDannyH - April 19, 2011 7:50 p.m.

    Bias against MK? Have they not seen Brett do all the MK1 fatalities from memory in under 5 mins. The man knows MK. I was worried it wouldn't score well, but it's getting 8's and 9's all round. Not bad. This review is really tempting me to by this bad boy. SP looks like a load of content for a fighting game.
  • trenen - April 19, 2011 7:24 p.m.

    This review is far better than the IGN version. It is clear that the author at IGN doesn't like Mortal Kombat to begin with. Excellent job on the very honest and detailed review of Mortal Kombat, Games Radar!
  • JuliePeesgood - April 19, 2011 7:03 p.m.

    Man, I was interested before I read this. Now I don't think I kan resist buying this one. Usually not much of a fighting game fan, but this one kould be different. Kool! Thanks for the well-written review Sir Brett.
  • humpiedumpie - April 19, 2011 7 p.m.

    Great review! And to people saying that this review is bias shit, please turn off your computer and throw it out of the window with you attached to it. A review is a opinion of one man, and a f'ing proffessional man in this case, stop your endless whining. He gave it a 8, so its a great game. I'm so sick of people that just comment "bias" without probably even reading the review.
  • 5DollarFootlong - April 19, 2011 5:42 p.m.

    wait...there are MK fanboys?!
  • Tenfey - April 19, 2011 5:26 p.m.

    @Scyn: I am ashamed that I live on the same planet as you.
  • Kris55 - April 19, 2011 5:24 p.m.

    Looks like a fun game. Great review Brett Elston

Showing 21-40 of 84 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Apr 19 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Apr 21 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS Vita, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Fighting
Published by: WB Interactive
Developed by: NetherRealm
Franchise: Mortal Kombat
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.